Showing posts with label Set review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Set review. Show all posts

03 February 2023

LEGO® Friends review: 41727, 41738 & 41741: For the Love of Dog

Posted by tobymac

Today's review is for all dog-lovers! Join me on a journey through Heartlake City in search of canines in need of rescue.


The January 2023 wave of LEGO® Friends sets includes 3 sets focused on dog rescue: 41727 Dog Rescue Center, 41741 Dog Rescue Van and 41738 Dog Rescue Bike. The LEGO Friends theme is known for introducing new animal moulds and these 3 sets are no exception.

27 January 2023

LEGO® Friends room inspection: 41739, 41740, 41754 & 41755 'Room' sets

Posted by tobymac

The January 2023 wave of LEGO® Friends sets bring us forward in the timeline with the original group now all grown up and the introduction of a new group of 8 brand new characters. To get to know them better the theme gives us a look into their rooms with 4 new sets showing their hobbies and interests: 41739 Liann’s Room, 41740 Aliya’s Room, 41754 Leo’s Room and 41755 Nova’s Room. 

The sets average around 200 parts, and are available for £17.99 / €19,99 / $19.99 / AU$32.99. I assume the rooms of the other 4 friends will show up in future?

24 January 2023

LEGO® NINJAGO® review: 71782 Cole's Earth Dragon EVO & 71800 Nya's Water Dragon EVO

Posted by Kev Levell

Last month, we reviewed the largest dragon from January’s LEGO® NINJAGO® releases, 71786 Zane’s Ice Dragon Creature, and we’re still getting chills from its seriously cool design. We are back again as a father and son team to go head-to-head with the other two dragons in the new range: 71782 Cole's Earth Dragon EVO and 71800 Nya's Water Dragon EVO.

20 January 2023

LEGO® Friends review: 41735 Tiny Mobile Home

Posted by tobymac

Apparently it’s a new trend: Tiny Houses. On one hand, I like the concept: less room means less building materials, heating, maintenance and footprint but just thinking about living in one makes me claustrophobic. I’m not a fan of small spaces. I need room to breathe and move...besides, where would I store my LEGO in a Tiny House?


The trend has also reached Heartlake City, and our friends have opted for a mobile version of a tiny home. Hitch a ride through this review of Friends 41735 Tiny House.

18 January 2023

LEGO® Friends review: 41729 Organic Grocery Store

Posted by tobymac

The next set from the January 2023 wave of LEGO® Friends sets under my review is another shop: 41729 Organic Grocery Store. With 830 parts, it sits within the top 5 largest sets out of the wave, and includes some nice new elements. So, grab your cart and load up with MOC-feeders.

16 January 2023

LEGO® review: 40581 BIONICLE® Tahu and Takua

Posted by Ben Davies

LEGO® BIONICLE® has had a surprisingly turbulent life cycle for a LEGO theme. It initially debuted in 2001 and ran until 2010, supported by comics, novels, and films. In 2015, the theme would receive an ill-fated reboot, which lasted only until the end of 2016. Despite these ups-and-downs, BIONICLE still has an avid following among a certain sect of LEGO fans.

Later this month, BIONICLE once again rises from the ashes in the form of 40581 BIONICLE® Tahu and Takua, which will be available as a gift with select purchases over the $100 / €100 / £90 threshold between 27 January and 9 February, 2023.

13 January 2023

LEGO® Super Mario™ review & MOC: 71408 Peach’s Castle Expansion Set

Posted by Tom Loftus

In August 2022 the world of LEGO® Super Mario™ expanded yet again with 71408 Peach’s Castle Expansion Set. Today we're playing a bit of catch up with a look at the new elements and prints it introduces, as well as a handful of MOCs inspired by its inventory.

10 January 2023

LEGO® Friends review: 41731 Heartlake International School

Posted by tobymac

The new year brings us a brand new group of Heartlake friends and according to the press release they'll meet each other at school. So naturally a school comes in the new wave of LEGO® Friends. We've seen 2 previous school sets (5 if you count the Art, Theater and Performance sets), and  I’ll be schooling you today on the third: Friends 41731 Heartlake International School. With 985 pieces it's the second biggest set in the January 2023 wave, so sit up, grab your pencil or laptop and pay attention!

04 January 2023

LEGO® Monkie Kid review: 80044 Monkie Kid's Team Hideout

Posted by Caz Mockett

Thomas Jenkins has already reviewed the largest offering of the January 2023 wave of LEGO® Monkie Kid sets, 80045 Monkey King Ultra Mech, and I have taken a look at 80040 Monkie Kid's Combi Mech and 80041 Mei's Dragon Jet in a combined review, plus 80043 Yellow Tusk Elephant. Today it is the turn of 80044 Monkie Kid's Team Hideout. 

31 December 2022

LEGO® ICONS™ 10312 Jazz Club: build and features review

Posted by Zachary Hill

Last week, New Elementary jumped into LEGO® ICONS™ 10312 Jazz Club's new parts, along with designer insights. Now we're looking at the completed build and features of next year's musical Modular, which is released at midnight tonight. If you're buying it (or anything from LEGO.com) and have appreciated our work in 2022, please consider using our affiliate links. We may earn a small fee, or a medium one if you've really got a lot of sets to get your hands on! USA | UK | Australia (other countries can change region in the page footer).


At three stories tall and dressed in nearly the three primary colours, this Modular Building splits into four pieces. Just like mozzarella and basil, the combination of jazz club and pizzeria make a delicious pairing.

24 December 2022

LEGO® Friends review: 41732 Downtown Flower and Design Stores

Posted by tobymac

After examining all of the new elements found in the January 2023 LEGO® Friends wave, it’s time to take a look at the largest of the sets, 41732 Downtown Flower and Design Stores. With 2010 parts, it's not just the largest piece count of the wave, it's the largest ever in the 10 years of the LEGO Friends theme. It's even the first LEGO Friends set to have a 12+ age recommendation.

I’ve been hoping for a Modular-sized LEGO Friends build, and this set comes close. Let’s find out if that 12+ mark is warranted.

20 December 2022

LEGO® NINJAGO® review: 71786 Zane's Ice Dragon Creature

Posted by Kev Levell

As I write this review, my part of the UK is inches deep in snow and has plunged to sub zero temperatures. Cold winds brought here by the Nindroid’s new beast, perhaps?

Part of January’s LEGO® NINJAGO® ‘Core’ subtheme release, 71786 Zane's Ice Dragon Creature doesn’t tie to the TV show and so it’s free to just be its own thing. And an awesome-looking thing it is too. Today were are reviewing this huge, glacial-coloured hexapod. 

17 December 2022

LEGO® Monkie Kid review & MOC: 80043 Yellow Tusk Elephant

Posted by Caz Mockett

Thomas Jenkins has already reviewed the largest offering of the January 2023 wave of LEGO® Monkie Kid sets, 80045 Monkey King Ultra Mech, and I have taken a look at 80040 Monkie Kid's Combi Mech and 80041 Mei's Dragon Jet in a combined review. Today I'm turning my attention to 80043 Yellow Tusk Elephant, which sits in the middle of the range, and I will be assessing 80044 Monkie Kid's Team Hideout very soon. For brevity, I will refer to them by their set numbers in the text below.

14 December 2022

LEGO® Monkie Kid™ review & MOC: 80040 Monkie Kid's Combi Mech & 80041 Mei's Dragon Jet

Posted by Caz Mockett
The January 2023 wave of LEGO® Monkie Kid™ includes two sets at the £17.99 price point. Today I take a look at 80040 Monkie Kid's Combi Mech and 80041 Mei's Dragon Jet, and highlight the interesting elements they contain.
 

13 December 2022

LEGO® Monkie Kid™ review: 80045 Monkey King Ultra Mech

Posted by Thomas Jenkins

Today we’re looking at 80045 Monkey King Ultra Mech: the largest of the upcoming January wave of LEGO® Monkie Kid™ sets. Soon, Caz Mockett will be investigating the other four sets: 80040 Monkie Kid Combi Mech, 80041 Mei’s Dragon Jet, 80043 Yellow Tusk Elephant, and 80044 Monkie Kid’s Team Hideout. What better way to celebrate the approaching new year than with some brand-new LEGO sets and elements?

09 December 2022

LEGO® ICONS™ review: 10304 Chevrolet Camaro Z28

Posted by Zachary Hill

The latest LEGO® ICONS™car pays homage to one of history's most influential American automobile designs. The 1969 Chevrolet Camaro oozes cool with its strong lines and powerful V8 engine and is still one of the manufacturer's most recognizable designs today.


10304 Chevrolet Camaro Z/28 1969 represents the other half of a generations-long "pony car" rivalry: this centerpiece of car culture is General Motors' answer to the Ford Mustang, which appeared as a Creator Expert car in 2019. Are you on team Chevy or team Ford? Either way, read on for the Camaro's new parts and smart building techniques, that are sure to appease both sides.

06 December 2022

LEGO® Monkie Kid review & MOCs: 80034 Nezha's Fire Ring

Posted by Caz Mockett

80034 Nezha's Fire Ring was part of the January 2022 wave of the LEGO® Monkie Kid theme. Let's take a look at the interesting elements to and build the set, before we have a play with some of the parts.


25 November 2022

LEGO® Super Mario™ review + MOCs: 71411 The Mighty Bowser

Posted by Kev Levell

For the uninitiated, Mario’s archenemy is Bowser, a turtle like creature with dragon-like features. Also known as King Koopa, the big boss kidnapper of Princess Peach is depicted in LEGO® Super Mario™ set 71411 The Mighty Bowser at a suitably magnificent scale. 

Will this LEGO power-up set be collecting all of your gold coins? Let’s jump down the warp-pipe and see where it takes us, as I review its parts and build, and create some original MOCs.

20 November 2022

LEGO® Monkie Kid review & MOCs: 80039 The Heavenly Realms

Posted by Caz Mockett

2022 saw the debut of LEGO® Monkie Kid Season 3, accompanied by the release of seven sets on 1 January. Six months later, 80039 The Heavenly Realms appeared; the largest of three more sets released in the summer wave. 

18 November 2022

LEGO® ICONS™ review: 10307 Eiffel Tower

Posted by tobymac

The LEGO® ICONS™ set 10307 Eiffel Tower comes with 10,001 parts, and is the tallest LEGO model to date. With previous Eiffel Tower sets counting 320 and 3428 parts, I’ve been given the task to find out if bigger is better.