Showing posts with label Set review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Set review. Show all posts

03 July 2024

LEGO® Friends review: water fun with sets 42623, 42625 and 42630

Posted by tobymac

There are three sets left to review from our batch of June 2024 LEGO® Friends sets, and 42623 Beach Water Scooter, 42625 Beach Smoothie Stand, and 42630 Heartlake City Water Park all depict fun in the water. Just as I started building these, the summer sun finally appeared here in the Netherlands, after weeks of rain. So it’s the perfect occasion to have a cooldown, be it at the pool or on the beach.

Lego pieces from sets 42623 Beach Water Scooter, 42625 Beach Smoothie Stand, and 42630 Heartlake City Water Park.

25 June 2024

LEGO® Icons review + MOC: 10328 Bouquet of Roses

Posted by Eero

The Botanical Collection is a subtheme of LEGO® Icons that features relatively affordable sets. In reality, similar life-size botanical subjects have found their way to other LEGO themes, too, including LEGO® Creator and, surprisingly, LEGO® Disney Princess sets. For me, these sets appeal as beautiful models. However, I'm foremost a MOC maker, and they are very good material for own creations – they include usually many of the same pieces, often in bright colours and sleek, organic shapes. 


The Botanical Collection often features many species, with differing colours, but set 10328 Bouquet of Roses focuses on strong red romanticism. How does it score with a MOC builder like me, and what did its pieces inspire me to build?

21 June 2024

LEGO® GwP review: 40690 Tribute to Jules Verne's Books

Posted by Tim Johnson


Available until 30 June 2024, LEGO® set 40690 Tribute to Jules Verne's Books is the latest Gift with Purchase (GwP) – and it's a fantastic one. Or should that be fantastical?

19 June 2024

LEGO® Friends review: Adventure Camp sets 42622, 42624, 42626 & 42631

Posted by tobymac

Grab your sleeping bag, citronella candle and first aid kit; we're going camping! The June 2024 LEGO® Friends wave includes 4 sets that are situated out in the wild: 42622 Adventure Camp Archery Range42624 Adventure Camp Cozy Cabins, 42626 Adventure Camp Water Sports, and 42631 Adventure Camp Tree House. Will these sets bring us some much needed relaxation, or will the bugs and bears keep us up at night?

17 June 2024

LEGO® Icons 10337 Lamborghini Countach 5000 QV: review & designer interview

Posted by Kev Levell
The Lego 10337 Lamborghini Countach 5000 QV, photographed with a 1980s style filter

I've stripped down the parts in the LEGO® Icons set 10337 Lamborghini Countach 5000 Quattrovalvole, got myself revved up, and built it. Today I'm taking a look its clever construction, and speaking with its lead designer, Sven Franic. I even took it for a bit of a respray in the 'shop!

15 June 2024

LEGO® Icons review: 10338 Bumblebee

Posted by Alex Campos

I was highly sceptical when the rumours of a LEGO® Optimus Prime first surfaced: two of the largest toy-making rivals cooperating? I'd certainly get hit in the face by a flying pig before that! It turned out set 10302 Optimus Prime was very real and I need to be on the lookout for airborne swine. Now lightning strikes twice and another famous Transformers character gets the LEGO treatment, namely 10338 Bumblebee. This means plenty of yellow elements to play with.

05 June 2024

LEGO® Speed Champions review: 76919 McLaren Formula 1 Car

Posted by Tom Loftus

With more LEGO® Speed Champions sets having just been released on 1 June 2024, it's about time we take a look at the final entry in the March 2024 wave – 76919 McLaren Formula 1 Car – which comes in 'chrome' livery! 


Sadly, not that kind of chrome. Nevertheless, having most of the new moulds introduced by the March wave, a few recolours and some lovely – yet specialised – printed elements, the set has much to offer. Let's drive in.

31 May 2024

LEGO® The Lord of the Rings review: 40693 Fell Beast

Posted by Ben Davies


To mark the release of LEGO® Icons 10333 The Lord of the Rings: Barad-dûr on Saturday, those who purchase the set between 1 and 7 June 2024 will also receive the desirable 40693 The Lord of the Rings: Fell Beast as a gift with purchase, while stocks last. We've received an early copy for review.

30 May 2024

LEGO® Friends review: 42638 Castle Bed and Breakfast

Posted by tobymac

When you hear the word castle, most AFOLs will think of fortified walls, towers, drawbridges, moats, knights, archers and trebuchets... and of course grey, grey and grey. But despite having the word castle in its name, today’s set doesn’t fit that description at all.

Snuggle in for a cosy night and delicious morning as we stay at the new LEGO® Friends set 42638 Castle Bed and Breakfast.

29 May 2024

LEGO® Creator set review + MOC: 31148 Retro Roller Skate

Posted by Eero

LEGO® Creator is the odd-one-out of the evergreen themes: you never know what the next wave will entail. It seems that people generally like the sets, but a die-hard LEGO Creator fan is one of the rarest types of LEGO hobbyists. New Elementary features LEGO Creator sets infrequently, as they rarely have any new pieces. However in the esteemed January 2024 wave, set 31148 Retro Roller Skate caught my eye. To find out why, let's roll.

21 May 2024

LEGO® Icons review: 10332 Medieval Town Square

Posted by Ben Davies

Hear ye, hear ye! The fan-favorite LEGO® Castle System has returned once again in the form of LEGO® Icons 10332 Medieval Town Square. The set was released at the start of March, and marketed as a reimagining of 2009's 10193 Medieval Market Village, and a companion set to 10305 Lion Knights' Castle.

Considering the excellence of these previous sets, we were eager to examine 10332 Medieval Town Square to see how it compares!

18 May 2024

LEGO® Jurassic World Chaos Theory reviews: sets 76962, 76965 & 76966

Posted by Kev Levell

Three new LEGO® Jurassic World sets are coming on 1 June 2024, produced to tie-in with the upcoming Jurassic World: Chaos Theory series that debuts on Netflix on 24 May: 76966 Dinosaur Missions: Allosaurus Transport Truck, 76965 Dinosaur Missions: Stegosaurus Discovery and 76962 Baby Bumpy: Ankylosaurus


The main focus of two of the sets are new moulded dinosaurs that are sure to excite the LEGO palaeontology fans out there, young and old.

15 May 2024

LEGO® Icons review: 10333 The Lord of the Rings: Barad-dûr

Posted by Jonas Kramm

Today we cast our fiery eye over the new elements in the massive LEGO® Barad-dûr. The 83cm-tall tower of Mordor is the next LEGO Icons Lord of the Rings set, and features not only detailed minifigures, but also some precious recolours and prints. As a huge LOTR fan I will try my luck to simply walk into Mordor.

13 May 2024

LEGO® Speed Champions review: 76920 Ford Mustang Dark Horse Sports Car

Posted by Tom Loftus

Today we take a look at 76920 Ford Mustang Dark Horse Sports Car. It may only have a few new moulds, but it remains the literal dark horse of the March 2024 LEGO® Speed Champions wave.

11 May 2024

LEGO® Icons review: 10334 Retro Radio

Posted by tobymac

Long ago, in an era lost in time, before podcasts, Spotify and MP3s, people used magical boxes called "radios" to listen to music, the news and plays. 

Let's take a trip back in time as we build LEGO® Icons set 10334 Retro Radio. Stay tuned – as this is a time before the pause button or replay!

08 May 2024

LEGO® Architecture review: 21061 Notre-Dame de Paris

Posted by Eero

In 1957, a LEGO® set numbered 1309 was released, depicting a white church built in 1762. 56 years later, in 2013, a set named 21015 The Leaning Tower of Pisa joined it, depicting the belfry of the Pisa Cathedral – more well-known than the cathedral itself. Two years later, St. Mark's Basilica was featured in set 21026 Venice. The LEGO Group has shown in recent times that religious buildings are not "banned" in its products, as is commonly thought. They are only very rare.

It is not hard to understand why real-world religious themes are uncommon in LEGO products. Firstly, there is banality of making commerce from religion, and it can lead to protest by interest groups. Secondly, there is the argument of equality: is presenting only certain religions unfair, shouldn't they all be equally cherished... and monetised? Religion often intervenes with politics and human rights, and is a sensitive and personal subject in its own right, too.


LEGO® Architecture 21061 Notre-Dame de Paris is a set that depicts a Catholic church building; undoubtedly the set and its subject have strong religious aspects. On the other hand, the existence of the cathedral itself is not in question and, aside from its main function, it has high value in terms of architectural history, cityscape, arts & crafts... and monetary value in global tourism and souvenirs such as scale models, magnets, puzzles and everything imaginable. The cathedral fell into decay until Victor Hugo's 1831 novel The Hunchback of Notre-Dame raised it to a new level of awareness. A comprehensive restoration and redesign followed. Monetisation and depictions in non-religious contexts are nothing new to Notre-Dame de Paris.

06 May 2024

LEGO® NINJAGO® review & MOC: 71813 Wolf Mask Shadow Dojo

Posted by Caz Mockett

71813 Wolf Mask Shadow Dojo is one of the larger sets in the March 2024 LEGO® NINJAGO® wave; part of Dragons Rising Season 2. The striking structure has some appealing colours, plenty of play features and 8 minifigures. Let's take a closer look at all the details.

03 May 2024

LEGO® Speed Champions review: 76921 Audi S1 e-tron quattro Race Car

Posted by Tom Loftus

Today we return to the March 2024 wave of LEGO® Speed Champions sets with a look at 76921 Audi S1 e-tron quattro Race Car.

In its tracks are a multitude of prints and a modest selection of new elements. We'll take a closer look at them first, before catching up with the finished car. 

27 April 2024

LEGO® City review: 60432 Command Rover and Crane Loader

Posted by Kevin J. Walter

Space, the final frontier… wait, wrong context.

2024 is the year of the Space "supertheme" – the superior theme across many lines this year. My New E colleagues already featured some of the Space sets from the LEGO® Friends line, 42602 Space Research Rover and 42605 Mars Space Base and Rocket, and today brings our first review from the LEGO® City Space January wave.

18 April 2024

LEGO® Speed Champions review and MOC: 76922 BMW M4 GT3 & BMW M Hybrid V8 Race Cars

Posted by Thomas Jenkins

LEGO® Speed Champions returned in March 2024 with a trunkful of new elements. 76922 BMW M4 GT3 & BMW M Hybrid V8 Race Cars is the largest of the 4 new sets, and contains a total of 9 new moulds!

LEGO Speed Champions have a proven track record for impressive vehicles built with plenty of clever parts usage. Let's take this new set for a spin and see how it compares.