Showing posts with label Set review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Set review. Show all posts

16 February 2024

LEGO® Friends review: 42604 Heartlake City Shopping Mall

Posted by Eero

The LEGO® Friends theme was rebooted last year and in addition to brand new set concepts like 42605 Mars Space Base and Rocket it has brought many new takes on sets from earlier years. During its 12 year run, LEGO Friends has given us 41058 Heartlake Shopping Mall in 2014 – remembered for its Pearl Gold palm leaves, and 41450 Heartlake City Shopping Mall in 2021 – a surprisingly recent model that shares the same name, layout and escalator system as the new mall I'm reviewing today: 42604 Heartlake City Shopping Mall.

 

All of the rebooted LEGO Friends sets seem to be large improvements over their predecessors; so how does this mall fare?

12 February 2024

LEGO® Minecraft™ review: 21257 The Devourer Showdown

Posted by Elspeth De Montes

One of the more intriguing new sets released under the LEGO® Minecraft™ theme in January 2024 was 21257 The Devourer Showdown, based on this year's Minecraft™ Legends video game.

The 420 piece set features new moulds, new prints and some new recolours that currently remain exclusive to this set. It's definitely worth taking a closer look, even if Minecraft, the disgusting Devourer or mucus projectiles are not your thing.

11 February 2024

LEGO® Icons build review: 10327 Dune Atreides Royal Ornithopter

Posted by Zachary Hill

The definition of Frank Herbert's Dune series may be found in its myriad of sophisticated analogue technology. Of all this tech, ornithopters are arguably the most iconic. Their dragonfly-like movements provide relatively safe passage over the treacherous sands of the desert planet Arrakis and are a key pillar of the House Atreides "desert power."


Their rhythmic undulations are no longer a thing of science fiction with the release of LEGO® Icons 10327 Dune Atreides Royal Ornithopter. While the hefty set doesn't fly, it doesn't let down fans who have long yearned to see 'thopter wings move in complex reality. With an overview of the sand-skipping ornithopter's parts and minifigures completed, New Elementary swoops in again for a look at this fascinating set's build and functions.

05 February 2024

LEGO® Friends review: 42621 Heartlake City Hospital

Posted by Eero

While the LEGO® Friends theme often portrays small, independent businesses, it also gets a fair share of public services. The health services take place in 42621 Heartlake City Hospital which is a name that might sound familiar to you as there is a LEGO Friends set from 2020 with the exactly same name - 41394 Heartlake City Hospital. Comparisons with it show just how far the LEGO Friends theme has come; not only during its 12-year run, but also just within this decade. Heartlake City has been rebooted, so let's find out how its hospital has changed with it.

28 January 2024

LEGO® Friends review: 42605 Mars Space Base and Rocket

Posted by Eero

A Space subtheme – or should that be supertheme? – has been spread across several lines in January 2024 sets, and LEGO® Friends get their fair share with sets 42605 Mars Space Base and Rocket and 42603 Stargazing Camping Vehicle. I've posted my review of the latter on New Elementary's Patreon and social accounts, but first let's look at the Mars base, which features a unique design with two large quarter-dome modules along an airlock; a semi-realistic design with some amusing details. Step aboard!


25 January 2024

LEGO® Icons review and interview: 10331 Kingfisher Bird

Posted by Thomas Jenkins


LEGO® Icons is testing the waters with new subject matter. 10331 Kingfisher Bird is the latest black-boxed 18+ set and hopes to entice new builders with its entry-level pricing. Can it succeed? Let's dive in...

Our review features excerpts from our roundtable discussion with Senior Designer Sven Franic, who was responsible for this set's design. Some text has been edited for readability.

02 January 2024

LEGOⓇ Marvel™ set review: 76269 Avengers Tower

Posted by Thomas Jenkins

We took a look at all the new elements present LEGO® Marvel™ 76269 Avengers Tower in our parts review. Now it's time to look at Avengers Tower, assembled.

 

31 December 2023

LEGO® Friends build review and interview: 42639 Andrea's Modern Mansion

Posted by tobymac

With 2275 parts, 42639 Andrea’s Modern Mansion is the largest LEGO® Friends set to date. These parts include a lot of interesting new elements which we’ve already taken a look at, but now it’s time to start building!

30 December 2023

LEGO® Technic™ set reviews: 42163 Heavy-Duty Bulldozer and 42167 Mack LR Electric Garbage Truck

Posted by Alex Campos

Here at New Elementary we’re looking ahead to what the New Year will bring to the LEGO® Technic™ theme with two January 2024 sets: 42163 Heavy-Duty Bulldozer and 42167 Mack LR Electric Garbage Truck. Since neither set is very large, we’ll take a look at their elements and their builds together.


27 December 2023

LEGO® Star Wars™ set review: 75371 Chewbacca

Posted by Eero

LEGO® Star Wars™ sets are stereotypically expensive horizontal Light Bluish Gray, Dark Red or Dark Blue objects made of wedge plates and featuring detailed minifigures. Alongside those, there have also been sets of larger figures, almost since the theme's beginning. I remember looking at 7194 Yoda in a catalog 21 years ago in 2002 when I was seven and wondering how many pieces it would have... it has 1075, which doesn't sound that much in 2023.


In comparison, 75371 Chewbacca has 2319 pieces - over twice more - although it doesn't look much larger. Of course, many modern parts have been made character building a lot easier than it was in the bricky 2000s. How does our first large-scale LEGO System model of Chewbacca manage to capture the classic first mate of the Millenium Falcon?

21 December 2023

LEGO® NINJAGO® review: mech sets 71806, 71807 & 71808

Posted by tobymac

Over the years we've seen many mechs in the LEGO® NINJAGO® line-up and their builds have increasingly evolved through time. In 2024 the designers are introducing new elements to bring even more build options and play features.

Today we’ll be taking a look at 3 mechs from the first wave of 2024 sets; 71806 Cole's Earth Mech, 71807 Sora's Tech Mech and 71808 Kai's Fire Mech.

19 December 2023

LEGO® Spring Festival review: 80112 Auspicious Dragon

Posted by Caz Mockett

I have already examined the larger of the two LEGO® Spring Festival sets for 2024, 80113 Family Reunion Celebration and spoken to its designer, Niels Mølgård Frederiksen about it's inception. Today it's the turn of the smaller release, 80112 Auspicious Dragon.

05 December 2023

LEGO® Monkie Kid™ review: 80054 Megapolis City 5th Anniversary

Posted by Caz Mockett

Today I'm taking a look at LEGO® Monkie Kid 80054 Megapolis City 5th Anniversary, which contains some very interesting new pieces, and even a new LEGO colour! 

04 December 2023

LEGO® Spring Festival review: 80113 Family Reunion Celebration

Posted by Caz Mockett

I recently had the pleasure of talking with Niels Mølgård Frederiksen, Associate Creative Lead for LEGO® Monkie Kid and designer of this LEGO® Spring Festival release, 80113 Family Reunion Celebration. So it's great that I also have the chance to have a proper look at the set to review for you, and there's a lot to enjoy.

24 November 2023

LEGO® Ideas review: 21343 Viking Village

Posted by tobymac

Skål! Today’s set takes us back in time, in terms of both world history and LEGO® history. So raise your horn of mead and toast to the return of the Vikings.

21 November 2023

LEGO® Friends Sea Rescue sets review & MOC: 41734, 41736, 41752

Posted by Tom Loftus

Earlier this year the environmentally conscious Heartlake City received a revamped sea rescue sub-theme in the form of LEGO® Friends sets 41734 Sea Rescue Boat, 41736 Sea Rescue Center and 41752 Sea Rescue Plane. Today I'll be taking a look at the noteworthy parts and builds of all three sets before attempting an alternate build using their combined inventories.

 

18 November 2023

LEGO® Technic review: 42159 Yamaha MT‑10 SP

Posted by Zachary Hill

Yamaha's top-of-the-line "hyper naked" motorcycle is wearing LEGO® Technic clothes. 42159 Yamaha MT-10 SP is the second 1:5 scale motorbike from The LEGO Group, but plenty more besides the manufacturer has changed on this successor. Overhauled gearbox pieces revolutionize shifting, while plenty of regular parts get a major aesthetic upgrade with better sprue mark positioning.


Itty bitty bits aside, the overall bike embodies "The Dark Side of Japan"—Yamaha's MT-10 SP catchphrase—with aggressive styling. Broad strokes of black and minimal fairings suit my taste in motorcycles, even if there are a few areas where I question Yamaha's choices.

13 November 2023

LEGO® Disney™ Wish review: 43231 Asha’s Cottage

Posted by Elspeth De Montes

LEGO recently revealed three sets based on the upcoming Disney™ animated movie, Wish. With the movie releasing on 22 November in the US, we thought it was the perfect time to take a look at the middle-sized set, 43231 Asha's Cottage. 

Let's take a look inside and see what new elements it brings.

06 November 2023

LEGO® Icons set review: 10326 Natural History Museum

Posted by tobymac

Inquisitive minds rejoice as a new museum has opened downtown, featuring exhibitions from the past and the future. I took a look at the elements the museum is made of in Part 1, and today we’ll wander through its halls and study the artifacts on display, in this build review of LEGO® Icons 10326 Natural History Museum.

31 October 2023

LEGO® DREAMZzz™ review: 71469 Nightmare Shark Ship

Posted by Eero

There a generally 2 types of action & adventure theme flagship sets: the Castle and the Vehicle. I usually find the Castle type more interesting as they tend to offer unique architectural structures. The flagship of the LEGO® DREAMZzz™ theme is of the Vehicle type: a pirate ship, stuck in a shark, with jet engines.


For the last of my LEGO DREAMZzz reviews I'm taking a look at 71469 Nightmare Shark Ship. Spooked yet? You will be!