Showing posts with label Set review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Set review. Show all posts

06 December 2022

LEGO® Monkie Kid review & MOCs: 80034 Nezha's Fire Ring

Posted by Caz Mockett

80034 Nezha's Fire Ring was part of the January 2022 wave of the LEGO® Monkie Kid theme. Let's take a look at the interesting elements to and build the set, before we have a play with some of the parts.


25 November 2022

LEGO® Super Mario™ review + MOCs: 71411 The Mighty Bowser

Posted by Kev Levell

For the uninitiated, Mario’s archenemy is Bowser, a turtle like creature with dragon-like features. Also known as King Koopa, the big boss kidnapper of Princess Peach is depicted in LEGO® Super Mario™ set 71411 The Mighty Bowser at a suitably magnificent scale. 

Will this LEGO power-up set be collecting all of your gold coins? Let’s jump down the warp-pipe and see where it takes us, as I review its parts and build, and create some original MOCs.

20 November 2022

LEGO® Monkie Kid review & MOCs: 80039 The Heavenly Realms

Posted by Caz Mockett

2022 saw the debut of LEGO® Monkie Kid Season 3, accompanied by the release of seven sets on 1 January. Six months later, 80039 The Heavenly Realms appeared; the largest of three more sets released in the summer wave. 

18 November 2022

LEGO® ICONS™ review: 10307 Eiffel Tower

Posted by tobymac

The LEGO® ICONS™ set 10307 Eiffel Tower comes with 10,001 parts, and is the tallest LEGO model to date. With previous Eiffel Tower sets counting 320 and 3428 parts, I’ve been given the task to find out if bigger is better.

28 October 2022

LEGO® NINJAGO® review & MOC: 71770 Zane’s Golden Dragon Jet

Posted by Caz Mockett

In this review, I take a look at one of the smaller sized sets from the most recent LEGO® NINJAGO® wave, 71770 Zane’s Golden Dragon Jet. It comprises the eponymous jet along with minifigures of Zane, Golden Dragon Cole and their foe, General Vangelis. 

19 October 2022

LEGO® Ideas review: 21337 Table Football

Posted by tobymac

In February and March 2021, the LEGO® Ideas website ran a “We Love Sports'' contest. Table Football, designed by fan designer Donát Fehévári, was selected as winner, and will be released an official set on 1 November 2022. For those of you aware of the original submission, there is one massive change. The original was 11-a-side, and this is only 5-a-side! Why didn’t LEGO deliver on this? The short answer is, if they had to stick to 11-a-side, the set would not have been released at all.

17 October 2022

LEGO® Ideas review + MOC: 21333 Vincent van Gogh - The Starry Night

Posted by Eero

Vincent van Gogh is undeniably one of the most beloved painters in history. His paintings are adored by both the art professionals and the greater public, and the tragic aspects of his life affect the way they are perceived. Nonetheless, due to huge popularity his paintings adorn a mass of memorabilia from fridge magnets to calendars and lunch boxes, and via LEGO® Ideas program, a buildable miniature set.

10 October 2022

LEGO® City review: 60353 Wild Animal Rescue Missions

Posted by tobymac

LEGO® City introduced something quite original this year with the Missions series: there are no instructions, instead giving the builder a series of building challenges. Is this the thing I need to inspire me to finally start MOCing?

01 October 2022

LEGO® Star Wars™ set review: 75331 The Razor Crest

Posted by Thomas Jenkins

In part 1 of our review, we took a look at the parts contained in LEGOⓇ Star Wars 75331 The Razor Crest and at 6187 pieces, there was a lot to unpack. Today our attention turns to the build of this Ultimate Collector Series model, and we even have some insight from the designers for you.

29 September 2022

LEGO® Winter Village review: 10308 Holiday Main Street

Posted by tobymac

September has almost gone, summer has definitely passed, and it's almost time to set up the Winter Village display. Since 2009, LEGO® has released new additions to the village annually and today I’ll have a closer look at the 14th instalment of the series: 10308 Holiday Main Street.

20 September 2022

LEGO® Minifigures review: 71034 Series 23

Posted by tobymac

The LEGO® Minifigure theme keeps on bringing great new ideas. At the start of the year, 71032 Series 22 was released (reviewed by Kev Levell) and then in May I reviewed my favorite series to date, 71033 The Muppets. Today, I’ll examine the third series of 2022. 


Aside from the new minifig parts I’m happy to notice some interesting new elements, so let’s dive in.

15 September 2022

LEGO® Avatar new parts review: 75571, 75572, 75573, 75574 and BrickHeadz 40554

Posted by Jonas Kramm

We're pausing the Space Tools Parts Festival for a week as we have a thrilling look at the new range of LEGO® Avatar sets, coming 1 October 2022.


Today we land on the moon Pandora to explore the unique new recolours that grow here, and maybe even spot some wild moulds that have never been seen before!

Thirteen years after the first movie came into the cinemas, LEGO have decided to make four sets and one BrickHeadz depicting the second movie, Avatar - The Way of Water that is planned to be released in December this year.

15 August 2022

LEGO® Technic review: 42144 Material Handler

Posted by Alex Campos

Following LEGO® Technic 42128 Heavy-Duty Tow Truck last year, LEGO pneumatics are still going strong and are now present in 42144 Material Handler. As a model, it resembles a cross between 42006 Excavator and 42053 Volvo EW160E, clad in red. As a source of elements for your creations, let’s see what it delivers.

08 August 2022

LEGO® NINJAGO® review: 71774 Lloyd's Ultra Golden Dragon

Posted by tobymac

Dragons are a common sight in the realm of LEGO® NINJAGO®. A quick search on Rebrickable shows 58 sets featuring a dragon. So the question will be: does 71774 Lloyd’s Ultra Golden Dragon have anything new to offer? With 998 parts, it is one of the largest dragon sets, and with 286 of these parts being in Pearl Gold, its shininess certainly stands out.


26 July 2022

LEGO® ICONS™ set review: 10305 Lion Knights' Castle

Posted by Ben Davies

Last week we examined the numerous new and rare elements that appear in the upcoming 10305 Lion Knights' Castle. Today, we'll be taking a look at the final model and some of the innovative building techniques that bring it to life.

23 July 2022

LEGO® ICONS™ review: 10290 Pickup Truck

Posted by Admin

Kevin J. Walter returns as a guest author today with a 2021 set that is so gorgeous we really felt it needed to be reviewed, better late than never! Products in this article were provided by LEGO®; the author's opinions are their own.

When I first saw the announcement of the LEGO® Pickup Truck in August 2021, images of rural American farm life came into my mind. Old MacDonald had a ride! 


Its release last October was the third large-scale vehicle released in 2021 by the line formerly known as LEGO® Creator Expert (now LEGO® ICONS™), following
10295 Porsche 911 and 10279 Volkswagen T2 Camper Van.

The set contains 1,677 parts divided over 8 bags and has a nice little collection of props accompanying the pickup truck. Before we take a closer look at the build itself, let’s explore the new parts in this set.

14 July 2022

LEGO® Technic review: 42145 Airbus H175 Rescue Helicopter

Posted by Alex Campos

Products in this article were provided by LEGO®; the author's opinions are their own.


The LEGO® Technic line includes what could be called the "modern large helicopter" range of sets: 9396 Helicopter, 42052 Heavy Lift Helicopter and 42113 Bell-Boeing V-22 Osprey (the latter can be considered a helicopter, and regardless of being cancelled by TLG, copies did get sold). Now, the fourth is approaching: 42145 Airbus H175 Rescue Helicopter. Will you give it permission to land?

13 July 2022

LEGO® ICONS™ review: 10497 Galaxy Explorer

Posted by Caz Mockett

In 1979 The LEGO Group released a set which is still much loved by fans of the LEGO® Space theme, designed by the now-legendary Jens Nygård Knudsen. In the USA it was known as 497 Galaxy Explorer, while elsewhere it went by the name of 928 Space Cruiser And Moonbase. Nowadays, fans mostly refer to it as “Galaxy Explorer” or simply “928” since that was the number printed on the sides of both versions of the ship. 

Due for release on 1 August 2022 worldwide, the set will retail for £89.99 / US$99.99 / 99.99€ / AU$179.99 and contains 1254 pieces, giving a price to part value of 7.2p / 8.0c / 8.0c. If you are pre-ordering or buying this set, please consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'.

04 July 2022

LEGO® Super Mario Luigi's Mansion review: 71401 Haunt-and-Seek

Posted by Zachary Hill

Products in this article were provided by LEGO®; the author's opinions are their own.

The frightful foes of Luigi's Mansion return for New Elementary's final review of the January 2022 LEGO® Super Mario sets. With three more spooky enemies, seven clever gameplay modules and enough details to call the vile villa a home, Haunt-and-Seek is the ultimate Luigi's Mansion expansion.

30 June 2022

LEGO® Speed Champions review: 76911 007 Aston Martin DB5 & 76912 Fast and Furious Dodge Charger

Posted by Kev Levell

Products in this article were provided by LEGO®; the author's opinions are their own.

In a surprising move, LEGO® Speed Champions have expanded their remit to include vehicles with a second license. The first two in this potential range of iconic movie & TV vehicles (if indeed this turns out to be a continuing feature) depict vehicles that LEGO has tackled in other themes before at larger scales.

76911 007 Aston Martin DB5


The release of the 10262 Creator Expert James Bond Aston Martin was just as surprising in 2018 as this smaller iteration is now. A subject that no-one expected to return, but is all the more welcome for that fact – especially at a more affordable price point.