Showing posts with label Set review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Set review. Show all posts

16 October 2021

(CW:HP) Build a giant minifigure with LEGO® 76393 Harry Potter & Hermione Granger

TobyMac (@efraimaspie) takes a special angle with his review of LEGO® Harry Potter 76393 Harry Potter and Hermione Granger, examining which parts you need to adapt these brick-built minifigures to other characters. Editorial note: Although views expressed by Harry Potter's creator do not align with that of New Elementary, we continue to cover some sets for their parts. Read about our stance here. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.


The moment the subject of today’s review was announced, I fell in love with the concept of large, brick-built versions of Minifigures. I know we have seen them before, like the 3723 LEGO® Minifigure, but they never really captured the curves and angles of the original. I can’t find an official name for these types of figures, so I hereby dub them BFG, or Brick Figure Giant. 

11 October 2021

LEGO® review & MOC: 10295 Porsche 911

Victor Pruvost (@leewanlego) is back today with a review of LEGO® 10295 Porsche 911, plus an original MOC! Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.

The LEGO Group has released an unusually high number of Creator Expert sets in 2021, including three vehicles (four if you include the UK exclusive 77942 Fiat 500 in Light Royal Blue/ Bright Light Blue): 10290 Pickup Truck which has just been released, 10279 Volkswagen T2 Camper Van from August, and 10295 Porsche 911 from March. It is the latter that we’re going to talk about today. It contains 1458 pieces, is priced £119.99 / US$149.99 / CA$199.99 / 139.99€ (Euro price may vary according to the country) / AU$229.99.

08 October 2021

LEGO® Super Heroes review: 76240 Batmobile Tumbler

Victor Pruvost (@leewanlego) takes the upcoming LEGO® 76240 Batmobile Tumbler for a spin. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.

 

The LEGO Group is about to release its third “Ultimate Collector Series” (UCS) Bat-vehicle in a row, following the two sets inspired by Tim Burton’s movies - 76139 1989 Batmobile in 2019 and 76161 1989 Batwing in 2020. The subject of this year’s set is a bit more recent, since it’s a LEGO® recreation of the Tumbler from Christopher Nolan’s Dark Knight trilogy. 76240 Batmobile Tumbler contains 2049 pieces, and is available from 1 November 2021 for £209.99 / US$229.99 / CA$329.99 / 229.99 / AU$399.99.

02 October 2021

LEGO® Technic Review: 42129 4x4 Mercedes-Benz Zetros Trial Truck

Zachary Hill (@zaxbrix) completes our run of Saturday LEGO® Technic reviews today with 42129 4x4 Mercedes-Benz Zetros Trial Truck, which is now available. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.


The new LEGO Technic 42129 4x4 Mercedes-Benz Zetros Trial Truck honors one of the world’s most unusual motorsports: truck trials, where a driver navigates a short but extremely challenging off-road obstacle course. This remote-control rock crawler comes with 2129 pieces including two new moulds and a smattering of parts recoloured in ever-versatile gray. Fans of off-road trucking and RC rock crawling will find something to appreciate, but others may find the price tag even steeper than the hills this truck climbs. After 42131 Cat D11 Bulldozer, this set is the second-largest and second-priciest Technic set of 2021 at £274.99 / US$299.99 / CA$399.99 / 299.99€ / AU$$499.99. Keep reading to see the new parts or scroll to the bottom to see a video of this truck in action.

25 September 2021

LEGO® Technic review: 42126 Ford F-150 Raptor

Alexandre Campos continues our run of Saturday LEGO® Technic reviews with the 1 October 2021 release: 42126 Ford F-150 Raptor. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.


42126 Ford F-150 Raptor is the latest in the "mid-scale car" Technic line, joining 42096 Porsche 911 RSR, 42111 Dom's Dodge Charger, and 42125 Ferrari 488 GTE 'AF Corse #51'. You may have already heard of this set due to it being officially revealed a while ago, but now you can learn additional details and hopefully have a better idea on whether or not to get one for yourself. 

23 September 2021

LEGO® Super Mario™ build review: 71395 Super Mario 64 Question Mark Block

Victor Pruvost (@leewanlego) completes his review of LEGO® 71395 Super Mario 64 Question Mark Block today. Having examined its parts last week, he now looks at the build itself. Buying this set once it's released in October? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.

The bags are numbered from 1 to 13. Bags 1 to 5 make the structure of the cube, bags 6 to 12 are used to build the game levels, and with bag 13 you close the cube. 

20 September 2021

LEGO® Super Heroes review: 76191 Infinity Gauntlet

Jonas Kramm (@jonaskramm) goes for gold today as he reviews LEGO® Super Heroes 76191 Infinity Gauntlet. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.


With the power of the six Infinity Stones the new LEGO® Marvel 76191 Infinity Gauntlet becomes reality! A new set targeting adult LEGO geeks and fans of shiny elements.

18 September 2021

LEGO® Technic review: 42128 Heavy-duty Tow Truck

Zachary Hill (@zaxbrix) gets behind the wheel – and all the other parts – of LEGO® Technic 42128 Heavy-duty Tow Truck for you today. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.


A new highway king has been released by The LEGO Group. LEGO® Technic 42128 Heavy-duty Tow Truck brings pneumatic functions back after their last appearance in 2018 and is decked out with a heaping helping of geared functions to boot. This truck released on 1 August 2021 and is available from LEGO.com for £139.99 / US$149.99 / 149.99€ and includes 2017 pieces.

11 September 2021

LEGO® Technic review: 42131 Cat D11T Bulldozer

Alexandre Campos kicks off a series of LEGO® Technic reviews that we will publish for you every Saturday for the next few weeks. Officially revealed yesterday, 42131 Cat D11T Bulldozer is released 1 October 2021 priced US$449.99/ AU$$749.99/ £419.99/ 449,99 €. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/ for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.


Remember 42028, the bulldozer from 2014? Well, it grew up quite a bit in the last seven years, and mastered some new skills. Unfortunately, it also picked up a license from Caterpillar, usually known as Cat. Why do I say unfortunately? Well...

07 September 2021

LEGO® Ideas review: 21329 Fender® Stratocaster™

Eero Okkonen (@eerookkonen) reviews the upcoming LEGO® Ideas 21329 Fender Stratocaster set, which will be available from 1 October 2021 priced US$99/ £99/ €99/ AU$159.99/ CA$139.99. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.

Usually, LEGO® Ideas products begin life as projects on the Ideas site, gain 10,000 votes within a given time frame, go through the LEGO Group review phase and are then converted into sets by employees. Gaining the votes - no small task on its own! - far from guarantees the product will be made; in the June 2021 review for example, only one of 25 projects was selected. 

©2021 The LEGO Group

However, the process was different for Ideas set number 37. In spring 2020 the Ideas website hosted a music-themed contest with fan voting. Tomáš Letenay's Fender Stratocaster project was chosen from the rank seven, surpassing band-specific, minifigure-scale and large figure-based projects.

04 September 2021

LEGO® VIDIYO Review: 43113 K-Pawp Concert & 43114 Punk Pirate Ship

Caz Mockett (@cazmockett) continues our LEGO® VIDIYO analysis today with a rundown on sets 43113 K-Pawp Concert & 43114 Punk Pirate Ship. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.


In this review I am exploring two of the larger sets in the LEGO® VIDIYO buildable stages range. The K-Pawp Concert retails for £44.99 / US$49.99 / €49.99 and contains 514 pieces, while the Pirate Ship costs £59.99 / US$59.99 / €69.99 with 615 pieces.

02 September 2021

LEGO® VIDIYO Review & MOCs: 43111 Candy Castle Stage & 43112 Robo HipHop Car

Caz Mockett (@cazmockett) follows up our 5x5 fest by taking on a further two LEGO® VIDIYO sets today, 43111 and 43112. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.


June 1st 2021 saw the introduction of several new buildable stage sets in the LEGO® VIDIYO theme. Today I am exploring two of the smaller models, 43111 Candy Castle Stage and 43112 Robo HipHop Car. Both sets are at the £24.99 / $29.99 / €29.99 price point, with Candy Castle containing 344 pieces while the HipHop Car has 387.

22 August 2021

LEGO® Disney review + MOC: 43189 Elsa and the Nokk Storybook Adventures

Eero Okkonen (@eerookkonen) takes a look inside LEGO® Disney 43189 Elsa and the Nokk Storybook Adventures, before using some of its new parts in an original creation. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.

LEGO® has recently shown interest in releasing sets that look like books, without actually being books. LEGO Ideas 21315 Pop-Up Book was released in 2018, and the first four Disney Storybook Adventures sets were introduced in early 2020. These lacked the advanced pop-up mechanism of the Ideas set, being simple cases fitting small playsets inside, easily closed for storage or travel.


These sets got a lone successor in January 2021 with 43189 Elsa and the Nokk Storybook Adventures. As the Frozen franchise is very popular, it is not surprising to see another storybook concerning it. I must warn you: the popularity of the franchise is the only thing I know about it!

16 August 2021

(CW: HP) LEGO® Harry Potter build review: 76391 Hogwarts Icons Collectors Edition

Tom Loftus (@inthert.lego) completes his analysis of the upcoming LEGO® Harry Potter 76391 Hogwarts Icons Collectors Edition with a look the techniques used in the build. Editorial note: Although views expressed by Harry Potter's creator do not align with that of New Elementary, we continue to cover some sets for their parts. Read about our stance here. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.

We've already taken a look at the set's delightful elements in Part 1 of our review so today we'll be focusing on the build itself and gosh, what a stunning build it is.

Harry’s Belongings


We start off with a trio of standalone items: Harry’s glasses, wand and one tiny vial of liquid luck - the identifying sticker for which I opted not to apply because who knows when a glow in the dark cone could come in handy. I’d be shocked if anyone building this set can resist the urge to immediately place the glasses upon their own nose - I'm unashamed to admit I couldn't!

23 July 2021

LEGO® Friends review + MOC: 41449 Andrea's Family House

Eero Okkonen (@eerookkonen) casts his critical eye over the architecture of LEGO® Friends 41449 Andrea's Family House today, before creating a brand new model inspired by some of its parts. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.


41449 Andrea's Family House - released in January 2021 - adds a new building to the series of homes inhabited by the main characters of Friends. Let's analyse its architecture and interesting parts before getting creative with the parts.

20 July 2021

LEGO® Creator review + alt builds: 31115 Space Mining Mech

Thorin Finch, who contributed to one of our parts festivals a couple of years back, returns with a guest review today of LEGO® Creator 3-in-1 31115 Space Mining Mech, as well as designing some alternate builds of his own. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.

With the recent success of NASA’s latest Mars exploration rover Perseverance (and the even more recent but less successful test of SpaceX’s SN10 rocket), the wonders and dangers of space exploration have been at the forefront of society’s collective consciousness. And, for anyone looking to extend their newfound interests in space exploration into LEGO®, a simple search for the keyword ‘space’ on the LEGO website produces, among other things, Creator 31115 Space Mining Mech. 

07 July 2021

LEGO® DOTS review + MOC: 41921 Extras Series 3

Caz Mockett (@cazmockett) examines – and then creates her own model – using the parts from 2021 LEGO® DOTS set 41921 Extras Series 3. Buying this pack, priced £3.99 / US$3.99 / 3.99€? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: UK LEGO Shop | USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop.


I liked the LEGO® DOTS Series 1 Extras when they were first released, but wasn’t as enamoured with Series 2. However, the Series 3 polybag caught my attention as it contains many elements in colours I enjoy. LEGO sent me five copies of the bag, and I added a sixth of my own for this review and MOC. I immediately cracked a packet open to see exactly what it contained.

28 June 2021

LEGO® Friends reviews: 41677 Forest Waterfall & 41682 Heartlake City School

Saija Saarenpää (@saija_kristina) returns with not one but two more LEGO® Friends reviews for you today: the 93-piece 41677 Forest Waterfall and 605-piece 41682 Heartlake City School! Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.

41677 Forest Waterfall


This small forest area beside a waterfall includes a wooden log that bridges both sides of the river where the waterfall lands. Included are two minidolls, a squirrel, and a few basic supplies for camping such as binoculars, a bonbon to roast in a fire, and a mug. There’s also a kick scooter as a means of transportation.

26 June 2021

LEGO® DOTS review & MOCs: 41926 Creative Party Kit

Caz Mockett (@cazmockett) gets creative with a 2021 LEGO® DOTS kit today: 41926 Creative Party Kit, which she analyses before designing her own models using the cupcake piece 72024. Buying this set from LEGO.com? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: UK | USA | Australia, for other countries 'Change Region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.


In this article, I take a look at the LEGO® DOTS Creative Party Kit, which was released in January 2021. The first thing I noticed was the box art, which I felt was perhaps a little misleading - you do get lots of lovely LEGO elements, but none of the other bits and pieces in the picture, such as the fluffy pompoms or ribbon. I know these were probably included to suggest a storage solution for party favours, but unwary parents who buy the kit for a birthday party on the basis of the box art may be a bit disappointed. It’s a minor thing, but one I felt I ought to mention.

20 June 2021

LEGO® Star Wars review & MOCs: 75300 Imperial Tie Fighter & 75301 Luke Skywalker’s X-Wing Fighter

Kev Levell (@kevlevell) gives you double LEGO® Star Wars love today as he examines the parts in 75300 Imperial Tie Fighter & 75301 Luke Skywalker’s X-Wing Fighter before creating MOCs using both their parts. Buying these sets? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: UK LEGO Shop | USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop, for other countries 'Change Region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.


These two new iterations of iconic LEGO® Star Wars ships have been available for a little while now. There are a very small number of notable new parts and even dealing with both sets at once, it is a scant offering. However, both sets feature elements that I wanted to investigate. None of the parts are presented in very great numbers either, but their connections and geometry may reveal them to be slightly overlooked gems. I’m hoping they aren’t disappointing, unnecessary introductions into the inventory.