Showing posts with label Set review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Set review. Show all posts

25 February 2021

LEGO® Monkie Kid review: 80021 Lion Guardian

Aron Gerencsér (@_pohaturon) continues his 2021 LEGO® Monkie Kid coverage today with 80021 Monkie Kid's Lion Guardian, coming 1 March. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links: UK LEGO Shop | USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop, for other countries 'Change Region'. New Elementary may get a commission. The products in this article were provided for free by LEGO; the author's opinions are not biased by this.


Large quadruped creature builds are a returning staple of the more fantastical LEGO® themes, and Monkie Kid gets its first one in the March wave of 2021 sets with 80021 Monkie Kid's Lion Guardian. Coming in at 774 pieces it has a price of €69,99/ US$79.99/ 569.0 HKD/ 7280.0 JPY/ 99900.0 KRW/ 329.9 MYR/ 109.9 SGD/ 2599.0 TWD. Does this lion have a bite, or is it just roaring without teeth? 

The Parts

New Elements

80021 comes with three moulds that are new in this wave of sets, two of which we showed already in previous Monkie Kid reviews: a new minifig hair piece and an angled bar holder - it has a stunning 14 of this latter part in Dark Purple/Medium Lilac (6338503 | 72869). 


What is certainly going to intrigue builders, however, is a new mould designed to interact with another new-for-2021 mould, Brick Curved 3 x 1 with 2/3 Inverted Cutout that debuted in 10278 Police Station in in Brick Yellow/ Tan (6328182) and Medium Stone Grey/ Light Bluish Gray (6329117) and later in Black (6328095) in 21325 Medieval Blacksmith and also appears in this set.


The new mould acts as a corner for the slope, with the corner rounded off, turned upwards and featuring a hollow stud. Designed to interact with the aforementioned slope, it follows the same geometry and so can interface with inverted bows. We get two of this new corner piece in Black (6338499 | 73682) in the set. 

This new piece didn’t get my blood pumping, perhaps since I’m not much of a System builder. It sure is an unusual addition for those of you who like making buildings and such, particularly Asian architecture, though I definitely intend to find ways to subvert its intended purpose. 


We also get a new plastic runner with a pair of flags, which are mirrored versions of the same design.

Recolours and printed parts

Interestingly, all non-minifig recolours in 80021 Monkie Kid’s Lion Guardian revolve around prints or the lack of them to the point where, technically, none of these are actually newly recoloured. 

  • 2x Tile 2X4, Circle, No. 1 in White (6329902 | 66857) which previously only appeared with a print. Here, both instances of the part have stickers applie
  • 2x Round Plate Ø32X6.4 with print (6334575 | 3960)  
  • 1x Flat Tile 1X1, Round with Spider print (6334604 | 35381), new for this wave
  • 2x Voodoo Ball Ø10,2 with print (6334574 | 32474)

Notable and rare parts

Monkie Kid’s Lion Guardian features quite a few rare and interesting pieces too. 

  • 2x Design Brick 4X1, W/ Bow in Bright Red/ Red (6301367 | 66955) which only appears in 71720 Fire Stone Mech which fellow New Elementarist Kev Levell recently reviewed and showed off some ingenious uses of this piece in MOCs
  • 7x Flame Tribal W/Shaft Ø3.2 Mm in Red (6253815 | 18395) which appears in just 2 other sets, in smaller quantities 
  • 6x Brick 1X3,Outside Half Arch,W/ Cutout in Black (6328095 | 70681) appearing in just 2 other sets
  • 2x Tile 1X1, Heart, No. 1 in Bright Bluish Green/Dark Turquoise (6293280 | 39739) appearing in only 2 other sets
  • 6x Flat Tile 2X3 W/ Angle in Red (6294045 | 35341) which appears in 3 other sets
  • 6x Plate 1X2 W/Shaft Ø3.2 in Dark Turquoise (6295286 | 60478) which appears in 3 other sets

80021 is also a great source for pieces in Gold Ink/ Metallic Gold. None are new in this colour, but the Lion Guardian might be an easier sell for many than 80012 Monkey King Warrior Mech was. 

  • 2x Brick W/ Bow 1X4, No. 3 (6294504 | 67118) 
  • Weapon Hilt Symmetric (6294553 | 67131)
  • 6x Tile 2X2, W/ Bow, No. 2 (6294524 | 67124) 
  • 4x Plate W/ Bow 1X2X2/3, No. 2 (6294532 | 67128)
  • 2x Roof Tile W/ Lattice 1X2X2/3, No. 2 (6294514 | 67119)
  • 2x Gold Ingot, No. 2 (6294492 | 67117)
  • 3x Spoiler W/ Shaft Ø 3.2, No. 2 (6294519 | 67120)

The Minifigs


80021 Monkie Kid’s Lion Guardian contains 5 minifigs with some new parts between them. Monkie Kid’s season 2 outfit features a hood piece that’s new in dark turquoise, while Huntsman’s fur collar is new in dark bluish gray. He also features a new mould for his hair. 

This is a decent selection for fans of the theme, including the protagonist and the main female character, Mei alongside the main villain of this wave, the Spider Queen and one of her henchmen. 

The Build

As mentioned in my review of 80020 White Dragon Horse Jet, great side-builds are a recurring feature of this wave of sets. I also mentioned one instance where the side-build suprasses the main model, and this is it. 


First up, we put together another one of the little spider drones, which quickly became a favourite little build of mine, and the Spider Queen’s vehicle-platform-thing. This is where all those new bar holders are used.


Then we move onto a fun little arcade section. Comprising three sections connected by hinges, we can close up the arcade to make it seem more like a building, or open it up for interior access. On the one side, we have a screen and control pad on the ground - both stickers - where our heroes can challenge the spider drone to a dance-off. 

On the other side is a claw-game with a very simple mechanism allowing us to knock little statuettes through a receptacle. Funnily enough, the faux-joystick is too far up for a minifigure to comfortably access it.


Considering the fun, bright design of this section, I’d have almost preferred getting a playset with a larger, more involved arcade location where our heroes are hit by a surprise attack while having some downtime - and I say this as someone who usually prefers wacky vehicles, mechs or creatures to buildings. 

Based on the above you might have already guessed that I’m not exactly a fan of the Lion Guardian itself. This archetype of creature build is so ubiquitous in the non-realistic LEGO themes that I would have thought the designers have it down to a science. 


We start by building the head, which is definitely the high-point of the process. The design is clearly based on the traditional lion statues that can be seen in Chinese architecture - not unlike the Nian creature from the Chinese New Year set 80106 Story of Nian . Wheel hubs are used to replicate the round mane motifs found on these statues, and the whole thing is quite effective. 


The head is followed by the torso, which is significantly less elaborate. This is to be expected, as it needs to facilitate a play feature and will also largely be obscured by the limbs. Nonetheless, following the particularly ornate head made the sudden shift all the more jarring.


Once both the head and the body is complete, we finish off the play feature. The lion’s lower jaw is connected to a sliding mechanism, allowing us to open and close it by pushing a section forward on its back. The jaw’s range of motion isn’t huge, but the feature works well enough.


Next up come the limbs, which feel the least finished parts of the design. This is where my feeling that the set could have used quite a bit more refining was solidified. While building this right after the absolutely phenomenal 80020 probably didn’t help its case, even when not accounting for those elevated expectations this lion just doesn’t clear the bar.


After the limbs are attached, we move on to the two drums above the lion’s shoulders, which double as missile pods. I appreciate the idea here, hiding the spring loaded launchers in the traditional drums, but the execution leaves much to be desired. The shaping is a bit awkward, there is a noticeable gap between the brown section and the white dish, and the mechanism intended to lift the dish out of the way compromises the looks. This is another section of the build that could have used some more passes.


Finally we add the tail and the flagpoles, and the lion is complete. 


The main model in 80021 definitely lacks that wonderful “oomph” I felt when finishing The White Dragon Horse Jet. Having also recently built 71719 Zane’s Mino Creature which feels very similar - quadruped fantasy creature, head-related play feature, ratchet jointed limbs - I felt like the Lion Guardian was trying to do a lot of the same things, but ended up being a downgrade. 

While we have two extra points of articulation - the shoulders of the forelegs - the armour on the legs and the wheel hubs on the head render the actual posability null. I’ve mentioned my grievances with the drum-weaponry, but the main issue here is that the model sort of looks unfinished - especially the limbs. I understand part limitations and budgets need to be considered, but when there is a large pool of similarly sized and priced quadruped creature sets that pull off the final look better, I can’t help but feel that this set could have ended up in better shape too. 

Switching to a more positive note - the chomping function works well and can be fun for younger builders, having the large lion taking a bite out of the spider drone. Plus, be my opinions of the lion as they may, the arcade side-build is a definite highlight of the set and have me thinking that the Monkie Kid theme should spend some more time exploring locations instead of vehicles - the Panda convenience store seen in Caz’s recent review of 80011 Red Son's Inferno Truck is another example of this theme knocking a location-build out of the park. 

Conclusion

Despite the criticisms I lodge against 80021 Monkie Kid’s Lion Guardian, and it being the least impressive of the sets from this wave, it should be pointed out that this is a stance informed by the absolute stellar quality of its contemporaries. This is, by no means, bad. We have a nice selection of important characters appearing as minifigs, a fun side-build and a pair of exciting new moulds which hold quite a bit of MOC-building potential.

The main model definitely would have benefited a great deal from more refining, and its shortcomings are amplified by the fact that it can’t chalk them up to being experimental. We’ve seen this archetype done better, which is only more reason to focus on the location-based part of the set in future designs. 

Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links: UK LEGO Shop | USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop, for other countries 'Change Region'. New Elementary may get a commission. Available 1 March 2021, €69,99/ US$79.99/ 569.0 HKD/ 7280.0 JPY/ 99900.0 KRW/ 329.9 MYR/ 109.9 SGD/ 2599.0 TWD

READ MORE: LEGO® Technic double-header Monster Jam review: 42118 Grave Digger & 42119 Max D

Help New Elementary keep publishing articles like this. Become a Patron!

Massive thanks go to our 'Vibrant Coral' patrons: Elspeth De Montes, Megan Lum, Markus Rollbühler, Jorgito Mozo, Mevits Bricks, Font Review Journal, Baixo LMmodels, Andy Price, Anthony Wright, Chris Cook, London AFOLs, Gerald Lasser, Big B Bricks, Dave Schefcik, David and Breda Fennell, Huw Millington, Neil Crosby, Antonio Serra, Beyond the Brick, Sue Ann Barber & Trevor Clark, and Kevin Gascoigne. Vale Iain Adams, a great supporter of New Elementary.

LEGO® Shop at Home
USA: Save up to 30%. See what's on sale!
UK: Free delivery when you spend £50 or more at LEGO!
Australia: Discover the latest promotions and offers on LEGO.com

Amazon USA: Amazon.com Canada: Amazon.ca UK: Amazon.co.uk Deutschland: Amazon.de. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

All text and images are © New Elementary unless otherwise attributed.

24 February 2021

LEGO® Technic review: 42118 Monster Jam Grave Digger & 42119 Monster Jam Max D

Omid (@nwbricks) is back today, monster-jam-packed with more LEGO® Technic reviews for you: 42118 Monster Jam Grave Digger and 42119 Monster Jam Max D. Buying these sets? Consider using our affiliate links: UK LEGO Shop | USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop, for other countries 'Change Region'. New Elementary may get a commission. The products in this article were provided for free by LEGO; the author's opinions are not biased by this.


In my second double-header review we take a look at the new Monster Jam LEGO® Technic sets, Grave Digger and Max-D. Featuring licensed trucks from the live motorsport event tour, pullback motors and some interesting recolours, they are aimed at intermediate young builders with just over 200 parts each. They both weigh in at £17.99/ $19.99/ 19.99€ and were released on 1 January as part of the first wave of 2021 sets. Start your engines!

23 February 2021

LEGO® Monkie Kid review: 80018 Cloud Bike & 80019 Red Son's Inferno Jet

Aron Gerencsér (on Flickr) already has another 2021 LEGO® Monkie Kid review for you today – two little ones actually! 80018 Monkie Kid’s Cloud Bike & 80019 Red Son’s Inferno Jet. Buying Monkie Kid sets? Consider using our affiliate links: UK LEGO Shop | USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop, for other countries 'Change Region'. New Elementary may get a commission. The products in this article were provided for free by LEGO; the author's opinions are not biased by this.


With the first wave of 2021 Monkie Kid sets, LEGO® fans have a better selection of smaller, entry level sets than they did last year. Aside from polybags, 80006 White Dragon Horse Bike was the smallest 2020 set at 259 pieces. This time around, 80018 Monkie Kid’s Cloud Bike at 203 pieces retailing for US$24.99/ €19.99 and 80019 Red Son’s Inferno Jet at 299 pieces with a price of US$34.99/ €29.99 give the lower price points better variety. Are these sets a good introduction to Monkie Kid, or will they fizzle out?

22 February 2021

LEGO® City review & MOC: 60263 Ocean Mini-Submarine

Tim Goddard (@tim_goddard928) gets inspired by a 2020 LEGO® City set today, 60263 Ocean Mini-Submarine – or rather, one of its massive parts: 44665. The products in this article were provided for free by LEGO; the author's opinions are not biased by this.

The LEGO Group has a long and glorious history of underwater themes, whether fantastical like Aquazone or more contemporary – like a LEGO® City subtheme of sets. Indeed, in 2020 we once again journeyed underwater with the Deep Sea Explorers sets which have the tagline ‘Supporting National Geographic Explorers’.  This seems to mean some cool aquatic animals and a light-touch pro-environmental feel. LEGO Friends also took part in this collaboration in 2020 with some jungle themed sets which also came with some nice, somewhat cuter animals.


60263 Ocean Mini-Submarine is the smallest of the range and falls into the 4+ age mark, a bracket which used to be called Juniors and is designed for those who are ready to leave swallow-proof DUPLO behind and tentatively begin their System journey. 

21 February 2021

LEGO® Monkie Kid review: 80020 White Dragon Horse Jet

Aron Gerencsér (on Flickr) kicks off his series of 2021 LEGO® Monkie Kid set reviews today, commencing with the stunning 80020 White Dragon Horse Jet. Buying this set when it is released 1 March? Consider using our affiliate links: UK LEGO Shop | USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop, for other countries 'Change Region'. New Elementary may get a commission. The products in this article were provided for free by LEGO; the author's opinions are not biased by this.


80020 White Dragon Horse Jet is one of the smaller sets in the first wave of 2021 Monkie Kid products, including 565 pieces with a price of US$59.99/ 39.99€/ HK$329/ ¥4780/ 59900 KRW/ 179.9 MYR/ SG$64.9/ TW$1399. The set includes three minifigures, an interesting selection of parts and a blue cat with a mohawk riding a weaponised hoverboard. What more could you possibly need? 

18 February 2021

LEGO® Brickheadz review: 40442 Goldfish and 40443 Budgie

We have more LEGO® BrickHeadz for you today as TobyMac (on Rebrickable) examines the upcoming 40442 Goldfish and 40443 Budgie which will be released on 1 March 2021. Buying BrickHeadz? Consider using our affiliate links: UK LEGO Shop | USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop. New Elementary may get a commission. The products in this article were provided for free by LEGO; the author's opinions are not biased by this.

LEGO has introduced a new subtheme for BrickHeadz this year: BrickHeadz Pets. In January we saw 40440 German Shepherd and 40441 Shorthair Cats, which Victor Pruvost recently reviewed. The sets each have a grown-up and a baby version of the animal sitting on a joined display. We've seen similar displays before, for instance with seasonal BrickHeadz, but not for 2 figures together yet.


Today, I'll be looking at the upcoming 2 additions, 40442 Goldfish and 40443 Budgie, both priced 14,99€/ £13.49/ US$14.99.

17 February 2021

LEGO® Brick Sketches review: 40456 Mickey Mouse & 40457 Minnie Mouse

Thomas Jenkins (on Instagram) reviews two upcoming LEGO® Brick Sketches today: 40456 Mickey Mouse and 40457 Minnie Mouse which will be released on 1 March 2021 priced £14.99/ US$16.99. Buying them? Consider using our affiliate links: UK LEGO Shop | USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop, for other countries 'Change Region'. New Elementary may get a commission. The products in this article were provided for free by LEGO; the author's opinions are not biased by this.


LEGO® designer Chris McVeigh is back with more delightful recreations of two iconic characters: Brick Sketches 40456 Mickey Mouse and 40457 Minnie Mouse. It’s interesting to see LEGO continue to expand their range of art-themed sets and offer something different from the typical building experience. I’m certainly intrigued to see how these sets stack up.

16 February 2021

LEGO® BrickHeadz Pets & Chinese New Year review: 40440, 40441 & 40466

Victor Pruvost (leewanlego) reviews 3 LEGO® BrickHeadz sets for you today: 40440 German Shepherd, 40441 Shorthair Cats and 40466 Chinese New Year Pandas. Buying your BrickHeadz from LEGO.com? Consider using our affiliate links: UK LEGO Shop | USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop, for other countries 'Change Region'. New Elementary may get a commission. The products in this article were provided for free by LEGO; the author's opinions are not biased by this.


The BrickHeadz theme enters its fifth year in 2021 with three sets of brick-built animals released this January: 40440 German Shepherd and 40441 Shorthair Cats (both priced 14,99€/ £13.49/ US$14.99) as well as 40466 Chinese New Year Pandas (19,99€/ £17.99/ US$19.99). Past BrickHeadz sets have usually been good parts packs for builders, with parts in unique or rare colours and exclusive prints. Is this still the case in 2021? Let’s find out!

15 February 2021

LEGO® Technic review: 42120 Rescue Hovercraft

Today Alexandre Campos brings us a pre-release review of the latest LEGO® Technic set, 42120 Rescue Hovercraft, which will be available from 1 March 2021. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links: UK LEGO Shop | USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop, for other countries 'Change Region'. New Elementary may get a commission. The products in this article were provided for free by LEGO; the author's opinions are not biased by this.

After 42113 Bell-Boeing V-22 Osprey got cancelled at the last minute, Technic Rescue Services had to scramble to find something else to rescue figures with: a hovercraft.


Namely, 42120 Rescue Hovercraft. Let’s see what it does, and what interesting elements it brings. 

12 February 2021

LEGO® Monkie Kid review & MOCs: 80011 Red Son's Inferno Truck

Caz Mockett reviews LEGO® Monkie Kid set 80011 Red Son's Inferno Truck and designs some MOCs of her own using its parts. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links: UK LEGO Shop | USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop, for other countries 'Change Region'. New Elementary may get a commission. The products in this article were provided for free by LEGO; the author's opinions are not biased by this.


80011 Red Son's Inferno Truck sits at the £89.99 / $119.99 / 99.99€ price point in the first of the 2020 LEGO® Monkie Kid releases. It contains 1111 pieces which enables the builder to make the impressively menacing two-part Inferno Truck for Red Son and his henchmen, along with two wonderful side-builds: a tuk tuk for Monkie Kid who is working hard to deliver dumplings for Pigsy, and the Panda Convenience Store.

I confess I haven’t been watching the animated series, so I can’t comment on how close these builds are to anything which has been seen so far. I was however intrigued by the pieces in the set, so let’s take a closer look at those.

11 February 2021

LEGO® Xtra review & MOCs: 854048 Road Tape & 854065 Water Tape

French concept artist and architect Pierre-E Fieschi (@pierreefieschi) returns today but this time with one of our strangest briefs ever: we sent him rolls of LEGO® Xtra 854048 Road Tape & 854065 Water Tape. The products in this article were provided for free by LEGO; the author's opinions are not biased by this. Thanks to Adeel Zubair for product photography.


I was tasked by New Elementary to review and test out the decorated adhesives released in 2020 as part of the LEGO® Xtra line of accessories, before trying to include these very particular 'forbidden elements' in MOCs. A completely unusual LEGO experience for me; challenging but fun. There are 2 variants of this 15m long (49ft) roll of tape: a road print and a water print. 

08 February 2021

LEGO® NINJAGO® review: 71720 Fire Stone Mech

Kev Levell (on Flickr) takes a deep dive into the 2020 LEGO® NINJAGO® set 71720 Fire Stone Mech today. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links: UK LEGO Shop | UK Amazon | USA LEGO Shop | USA Amazon | Australia LEGO Shop, for other countries 'Change Region'. New Elementary may get a commission. The products in this article were provided for free by LEGO; the author's opinions are not biased by this.

An incredible 45 sets were released within the LEGO® NINJAGO® theme in 2020; that’s a lot even allowing for magazine cover mounts and the perennial pocket money “character spinner” variants. It’s a number exceeded only by LEGO Friends sets, while LEGO Star Wars languishes just behind with 43.


The 71720 Fire Stone Mech is one of the larger sets in Ninjago's 2020 ‘Master of the Mountain’ subtheme. He’s a big fella too, weighing in at 667g with a total of 968 pieces including 5 minifigures, all for a comparatively reasonable £64.99 / US$69.99 / 68.23€.

06 February 2021

LEGO® Technic review: 42116 Skid Steer Loader & 42117 Race Plane

Omid (@nwbricks) reviews LEGO® Technic 42116 Skid Steer Loader and 42117 Race Plane. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links: UK LEGO Shop | USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop, for other countries 'Change Region'. New Elementary may get a commission. The products in this article were provided for free by LEGO; the author's opinions are not biased by this.


This double review examines two small-but-mighty LEGO® Technic sets. With just shy of 300 parts between them and a price tag of £8.99 / US$9.99 / 9.99€ each, 42116 Skid Steer Loader and 42117 Race Plane are definitely targeted more at young builders but are not without their fair share of neat features. They were both released at the start of the year in the first wave of 2021 Technic sets. Let's take a look! 

05 February 2021

LEGO® DOTS review: 41915 Jewellery Box

Andrew Barnick completes his analysis of the 2020 LEGO® DOTS range today with 41915 Jewellery Box. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links: UK LEGO Shop | USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop, for other countries 'Change Region'. New Elementary may get a commission. The products in this article were provided for free by LEGO; the author's opinions are not biased by this.


For what will possibly be my last LEGO® DOTS review for New Elementary (at least for the 2020 sets), I am reviewing 41915 Jewellery Box. Along with 41914 Creative Picture Frames, this is one of the largest Dots sets, with a bright light yellow sorting tray and plenty of parts to obsess over. With that in mind, let’s dive in!

03 February 2021

LEGO® review: 40462 Valentine's Brown Bear

TobyMac (from Rebrickable) reviews the latest adorable seasonal set from LEGO® Extended Line today, 40462 Valentine's Brown Bear. Buying this cutie? Consider using our affiliate links: UK LEGO Shop | USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop, for other countries 'Change Region'. New Elementary may get a commission. The products in this article were provided for free by LEGO; the author's opinions are not biased by this.


Valentine’s Day is on its way. As usual, LEGO has released a set to commemorate the occasion; this year it is 40462 Valentine's Brown Bear. I want to judge this set for any interest group, regardless of your love-life, so rather than looking at this as just a Valentine’s set, I’ll also be looking at its part selection.

31 January 2021

(CW: HP) LEGO® 75979 Hedwig: Professor's "One Set" MOCs

The Professor (on Instagram) is back today with more of his alternate builds of a LEGO® set: this time he creates 7 new models using only parts from Harry Potter 75979 Hedwig! The products in this article were provided for free by LEGO; the author's opinions are not biased by this. Editorial note: Although views expressed by Harry Potter's creator do not align with that of New Elementary, we continue to cover HP sets. Read about our stance here.


75979 Hedwig immediately attracted me because it mixes classic LEGO® System elements with Technic. I have always liked these sets which combine the best of both worlds, especially when maintaining aesthetics while integrating movement. Before I show you my alternate builds let's take a brief look at the original model and what interesting pieces you get in it.

28 January 2021

LEGO® Disney review & MOCs: 43187 Rapunzel’s Tower

Caz Mockett (BlockHeadUK) takes a look at a 2020 LEGO® Disney set today, 43187 Rapunzel’s Tower. She takes a special look at the new swing piece before using parts from the set in her own creations! Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links: UK LEGO Shop | UK Amazon | USA LEGO Shop | USA Amazon | Australia LEGO Shop, for other countries 'Change Region'. New Elementary may get a commission. The products in this article were provided for free by LEGO; the author's opinions are not biased by this.


43187 Rapunzel’s Tower is part of the LEGO® Disney theme, featuring Princess Rapunzel and Flynn Rider and Rapunzel’s cute little chameleon, Pascal, stars of the movie Tangled. The set is aimed at the 6+ age group and, when built, comprises the huge prison tower for Rapunzel, a garden swing and the Snuggly Duckling Inn. Let’s take a closer look at its unique and rare parts.

27 January 2021

LEGO® Super Mario review: 71380 Master Your Adventure Maker Set

Tim Goddard (@tim_goddard928) continues our LEGO® Super Mario coverage today with 71380 Master Your Adventure Maker Set as he lists its new parts, prints and exclusive 2021 Super Mario barcode stickers. Buying this 366-piece set? Consider using our affiliate links: UK LEGO Shop | USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop, for other countries 'Change Region'. New Elementary may get a commission. The products in this article were provided for free by LEGO; the author's opinions are not biased by this.

‘Master your Adventure Maker Set’ - what an impressive name! In order to use any of the Super Mario sets to their full potential you need the 71360 Adventures with Mario starter set, but this is sort of an additional starter set to space out other expansions you might have purchased and to give a bit of room for your character packs to be displayed or line up an attack against any passing plumbers.

That is not all: it comes with some new play features, a special ‘customisation machine’, a 30 second pipe and some new characters.  We will look at them a bit later but first on to the parts.

24 January 2021

LEGO® Ideas review: 21325 Medieval Blacksmith - the build

Today Kev Levell (on Flickr) reviews the construction of LEGO® Ideas set 21325 Medieval Blacksmith, following his parts analysis yesterday. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links: UK LEGO Shop | USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop, for other countries 'Change Region'. New Elementary may get a commission. Products in this article were provided for free by LEGO; the author's opinions are not biased by this.


In medieval times, a blacksmith was a vital part of any village or town’s existence (as my kids and I discovered in our home learning while stuck in Lockdown 3). They were among a small group of craftsmen that no civilisation at the time could have done without. Usually working in iron and later steel, they would make all manner of things – nails, horseshoes, hinges, weapons, armour and hand tools, among many other practical and decorative things. A blacksmith would also be called upon to mend those same things too.

23 January 2021

LEGO® Ideas review: 21325 Medieval Blacksmith - the parts

Kev Levell (on Flickr) today reviews the 2164 pieces in 21325 Medieval Blacksmith, the new LEGO® Ideas set priced US$149.99/ CA$199.99/ 146.99€/ £134.99/ AU$249.99. Buying it? Consider using our affiliate links: UK LEGO Shop | USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop, for other countries 'Change Region'. New Elementary may get a commission. Products in this article were provided for free by LEGO; the author's opinions are not biased by this.

The LEGO Group is taking us on a journey in time. Back to Medieval times and, by association, back to the Classic Castle sets of the 1980s.

21325 Medieval Blacksmith is beautiful: this isn’t just a half-timbered house with a characteristically charming second-storey overhang, oh no, there is much more to it. The three floors are packed with authentic-looking details and clever features.

As an Amazon Associate, New Elementary earn from qualifying purchases.