Showing posts with label Set review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Set review. Show all posts

16 January 2022

LEGO® Friends review: 41703 Friendship Tree House

Posted by Admin

TobyMac (@toby_mac83) reviews the LEGO® Friends 10th anniversary set, 41703 Friendship Tree House. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.

LEGO has marked several theme anniversaries in recent years: LEGO Star Wars turned 20 in 2019, LEGO Harry Potter did the same in 2021 and LEGO Ninjago turned 10 that same year. For Star Wars there were promotional micro-builds and several remakes of older sets. Harry Potter celebrated with a relaunch of the Hogwarts modular sets and released golden minifigures of the main characters. Ninjago featured golden figures too, albeit with some added colours. With LEGO Friends turning 10 in 2022, I was looking forward to what LEGO will be doing to celebrate. Will there be golden minidolls? A remake of some classic sets? Or maybe a set packed with references?


When 41703 Friendship Tree House was announced as the 10th anniversary set, well, to be honest I was a bit underwhelmed. Yes, it’s big and looks great, but where are all the friends? Where are the 10 years of theme history? So it was not love at first sight. But I’ve been tricked by box art before; often sets look better in real life than in photos. So, eager to discover what I’m missing, I climb into the tree house.

12 January 2022

LEGO® Ninjago review: 71766 Lloyd's Legendary Dragon

Posted by Admin

Áron Gerencsér (@_pohaturon) continues his LEGO® Ninjago 2022 analysis today with 71766 Lloyd's Legendary Dragon. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.


The first wave of LEGO® Ninjago sets in 2022 are introducing the new 6+ EVO subline, but there are also “regular” sets for more advanced builders. Filling the obligatory slot of ‘medium-large dragon set’ that every Ninjago wave needs is 71766 Lloyd’s Legendary Dragon, and it sure lives up to the name even if it doesn’t inundate us with new parts. Between the surprising and engaging build experience and the satisfying end result, this is a suitably impressive set to represent the evolution of Ninjago dragon design. Let’s dive in!

09 January 2022

LEGO® review: 10279 Volkswagen T2 Camper Van

Posted by Admin

Eero Okkonen (@eerookkonen) examines LEGO® 10279 Volkswagen T2 Camper Van. Buying this set, priced US$179.99/ £139.99/ AU$269.99? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.


10279 Volkswagen T2 Camper Van is one of the over forty 18+ branded sets of 2021. It is designed by former New Elementary contributor Sven Franic, who displayed his MOCs alongside me in the LEGO® House Masterpiece Gallery back in 2019, so there's also a personal aspect to this review. Let's see what Sven and Billund's part designers have come up with for this classic vehicle, captured in a beautiful Medium Azure and White colour scheme. 

06 January 2022

LEGO® City Stuntz review: 60297, 60298 & 60293

Posted by Admin

TobyMac (@toby_mac83) takes some of the Stuntz subtheme for a spin: LEGO® City 60298 Rocket Stunt Bike, 60297 Demolition Stunt Bike and 60293 Stunt Park. Buying these? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: UK LEGO Shop | USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop, for other countries 'Change Region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.

The October 2021 addition to the LEGO City Universe was a team of stunt-racers. These daredevils all have newly moulded bikes and ramps to perform the craziest stunts. I’ll be taking a closer look at these new moulds and figure out if this new series of sets are as entertaining as they sound. 

02 January 2022

LEGO® Creator review + MOCs: 77940 and 77941 Mighty Dinos

Posted by Admin

Kev Levell (@kevlevell) plays with the brown and blue recolours of Mighty Dinos sets, LEGO® Creator 77940 and 77941, which were an experiment run in the UK market. He had two copies of each to work with. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.

There is something fascinating in seeing an official LEGO® set recoloured. Having built the original dinosaurs with my son numerous times, building the recoloured versions with him for this review was a real joy. Once again, I was struck by the versatility of the set, both as individual sets and as multiples.


The original green version, 31058 Mighty Dinosaurs, was designed by Mike Psiaki and the job of working out the recoloured versions was given to Morten Rauff. The concept of recolouring a set isn’t new, but it’s never been done by The LEGO Group as a product offering before.

29 December 2021

LEGO® Ideas review: 21331 Sonic the Hedgehog™ Green Hill Zone

Posted by Admin

Áron Gerencsér (@_pohaturon) explores the new LEGO® Ideas set, 21331 Sonic the Hedgehog™ Green Hill Zone. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.

Having a LEGO® Ideas submission hit 10,000 supporters is an exciting prospect for any builder hoping to see their design show up on store shelves. When the review period rolls around, that excitement can get mixed with anticipation and anxiety - so imagine having the submission held back “for further consideration” multiple times! Thankfully, the “Sonic Mania - Green Hill Zone” submission has now materialized as set 21331 Sonic the Hedgehog™ Green Hill Zone. 


Like all Ideas sets, this went through some changes - big and small - during the process of being redesigned from submission into product. Compared to the submission’s ~700 pieces, 21331 got bumped up to 1125 parts coming in at $69.99 / £59.99 / €69.99 / 119.9 AUD / 89.99 CAD. Let’s take a look at the end result and see if 21331 can hit the high score, or whether it ends up losing its rings.

26 December 2021

LEGO® Chinese Festival review: 80108 Lunar New Year Traditions

Posted by Admin

Tom Loftus (@inthert.lego) examines a 2022 LEGO® Chinese Traditional Festival set, 80108 Lunar New Year Traditions, which is available now in some markets – for local release dates, check LEGO.com. and please also consider using our affiliate links to purchase (New Elementary may get a commission): USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.


LEGO® 80108 Lunar New Year Traditions contains 1066 pieces, 12 minifigures and will cost €69.99/ US$79.99/ £59.99. The age mark is 8+. The set provides a charming holistic view of Lunar New Year, embodies the spirit of the event with the build together format and all for a reasonable price. The only downside being, you have a little detective work to do once you're done.

17 December 2021

LEGO® Minifigures review: 71032 Series 22

Posted by Admin

Kev Levell (@kevlevell) examines the LEGO® Minifigures 71032 Series 22. Buying these on 1 January 2022? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.


LEGO® has reached Series 22 of their regular Collectible Minifigures. Eleven and a half years, a total of 38 sets, 599 individual minifigures and I am surprised that there are still such great and varied figures being produced in every new series.

10 December 2021

LEGO® NINJAGO EVO review: 71760, 71761, 71762 & 71763

Posted by Admin

Áron Gerencsér (@_pohaturon) takes a look at the range of 2022 LEGO® NINJAGO sets aimed at builders aged 6+: 71760 Jay’s Thunder Dragon EVO, 71761 Zane’s Power Up Mech EVO, 71762 Kai’s Fire Dragon EVO and 71763 Lloyd’s Race Car EVO. Buying these? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: UK LEGO Shop (for Europe, 'Change Region') | USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.

Constraction’s back, baby!


The first wave of LEGO® NINJAGO sets in 2022 is doing things a bit differently compared to previous waves, and thanks to set designer Niek van Slagmaat’s documentation on the process, we have some insight into what motivated this new approach.

06 December 2021

LEGO® for Adults review: 10297 Boutique Hotel

Posted by Admin

Ben Davies (@ProfBrickkeeper) examines the upcoming 2022 modular building: LEGO® for Adults 10297 Boutique Hotel. Buying this set, priced €199.99 / US$199.99 / £179.99? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.


Despite frequent rebranding, 2022 marks the fifteenth anniversary of the LEGO® modular building series. To mark this milestone, the LEGO Group has unveiled 10297 Boutique Hotel, which will be available starting on 1 January 2022. Ahead of the launch, New Elementary had an opportunity to take a look at this latest modular building, and the new elements it contains.

05 December 2021

LEGO® review: 40524 Sunflowers

Posted by Admin

Caz Mockett (@cazmockett) reviews 40524 Sunflowers, a set from LEGO® Iconic line coming 1 January 2022 priced US$12.99/ £11.99/ AU$19.99. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.


Following on from the popular 2021 releases of smaller LEGO® Iconic botanical sets, 40460 Roses and 40461 Tulips, the third in the series has just been revealed: 40524 Sunflowers.

23 November 2021

LEGO® City review: 60307 Wildlife Rescue Camp

Posted by Admin

Ben Davies (@ProfBrickkeeper) talks to the animals, and dinghy, in LEGO® City 60307 Wildlife Rescue Camp. Don't forget Black Friday/Cyber Monday weekend starts 26 November 2021! Please consider following New Elementary's affiliate links; we may earn a commission. LEGO.com USA | LEGO.com Australia | LEGO.com UK (for Europe, 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.

Released earlier this year, the LEGO® City Wildlife Rescue subtheme caught the interest of many for its location shift to the African savanna, and the animals it introduced. The largest of the sets, 60307 Wildlife Rescue Camp provides a nice distillation of the subtheme, featuring many of the most interesting new elements in a single set.

30 October 2021

LEGO® Disney parts review & MOC: 43196 Belle and the Beast's Castle

Posted by Admin

Eero Okkonen (@eerookkonen) analyses the contents of LEGO® Disney 43196 Belle and the Beast's Castle before using some of its new parts in his own creation. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.


I have never seen Beauty And The Beast, and pretty much no other Disney animated films, but the castle featured in the film seems to be the most fairytale castle of fairytale castles, with smooth lavender walls, dreamy towering spires, gilded portcullises, romantic ballrooms and a comprehensive library. Its universality in the genre has led to many set versions in recent years so it's easy to get confused: there is 41067 Belle's Enchanted Castle from 2016, 43180 Belle's Castle Winter Celebration for 4+ builders from 2020, and even the single-spire 10762 Belle's Story Time from 2018… oh, and DUPLO 10877 Belle's Tea Party. Phew! 

23 October 2021

LEGO® Speed Champions 76905 Ford GT Heritage Edition and Bronco R: Set review, MOC and interview with Christopher Stamp

Posted by Admin

Tim Goddard (@tim_goddard928) presents a bumper article for you today about LEGO® Speed Champions 46905 Ford GT Heritage Edition and Bronco R! Not only does Tim include our interview with LEGO® Design Manager Specialist Christopher Leslie Stamp, he analyses the set and its parts, and creates an original MOC with its parts. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.

Images of set 76905 and Christopher Stamp ©2021 The LEGO Group

Ford: the backbone of American automotives. Today we look at a set comprising two of their most famous offerings, with a very special bonus – some exclusive comments from the LEGO® Speed Champions design lead, Christopher Stamp, taken from an interview with New Elementary earlier this year. From Chris we learn about why the set was not originally part of the 2021 line up, why these vehicles were chosen, and where the new 1x5 plate really came from.

16 October 2021

(CW:HP) Build a giant minifigure with LEGO® 76393 Harry Potter & Hermione Granger

Posted by Admin

TobyMac (@efraimaspie) takes a special angle with his review of LEGO® Harry Potter 76393 Harry Potter and Hermione Granger, examining which parts you need to adapt these brick-built minifigures to other characters. Editorial note: Although views expressed by Harry Potter's creator do not align with that of New Elementary, we continue to cover some sets for their parts. Read about our stance here. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.


The moment the subject of today’s review was announced, I fell in love with the concept of large, brick-built versions of Minifigures. I know we have seen them before, like the 3723 LEGO® Minifigure, but they never really captured the curves and angles of the original. I can’t find an official name for these types of figures, so I hereby dub them BFG, or Brick Figure Giant. 

11 October 2021

LEGO® review & MOC: 10295 Porsche 911

Posted by Admin

Victor Pruvost (@leewanlego) is back today with a review of LEGO® 10295 Porsche 911, plus an original MOC! Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.

The LEGO Group has released an unusually high number of Creator Expert sets in 2021, including three vehicles (four if you include the UK exclusive 77942 Fiat 500 in Light Royal Blue/ Bright Light Blue): 10290 Pickup Truck which has just been released, 10279 Volkswagen T2 Camper Van from August, and 10295 Porsche 911 from March. It is the latter that we’re going to talk about today. It contains 1458 pieces, is priced £119.99 / US$149.99 / CA$199.99 / 139.99€ (Euro price may vary according to the country) / AU$229.99.

08 October 2021

LEGO® Super Heroes review: 76240 Batmobile Tumbler

Posted by Admin

Victor Pruvost (@leewanlego) takes the upcoming LEGO® 76240 Batmobile Tumbler for a spin. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.

 

The LEGO Group is about to release its third “Ultimate Collector Series” (UCS) Bat-vehicle in a row, following the two sets inspired by Tim Burton’s movies - 76139 1989 Batmobile in 2019 and 76161 1989 Batwing in 2020. The subject of this year’s set is a bit more recent, since it’s a LEGO® recreation of the Tumbler from Christopher Nolan’s Dark Knight trilogy. 76240 Batmobile Tumbler contains 2049 pieces, and is available from 1 November 2021 for £209.99 / US$229.99 / CA$329.99 / 229.99 / AU$399.99.

02 October 2021

LEGO® Technic Review: 42129 4x4 Mercedes-Benz Zetros Trial Truck

Posted by Admin

Zachary Hill (@zaxbrix) completes our run of Saturday LEGO® Technic reviews today with 42129 4x4 Mercedes-Benz Zetros Trial Truck, which is now available. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.


The new LEGO Technic 42129 4x4 Mercedes-Benz Zetros Trial Truck honors one of the world’s most unusual motorsports: truck trials, where a driver navigates a short but extremely challenging off-road obstacle course. This remote-control rock crawler comes with 2129 pieces including two new moulds and a smattering of parts recoloured in ever-versatile gray. Fans of off-road trucking and RC rock crawling will find something to appreciate, but others may find the price tag even steeper than the hills this truck climbs. After 42131 Cat D11 Bulldozer, this set is the second-largest and second-priciest Technic set of 2021 at £274.99 / US$299.99 / CA$399.99 / 299.99€ / AU$$499.99. Keep reading to see the new parts or scroll to the bottom to see a video of this truck in action.

25 September 2021

LEGO® Technic review: 42126 Ford F-150 Raptor

Posted by Admin

Alexandre Campos continues our run of Saturday LEGO® Technic reviews with the 1 October 2021 release: 42126 Ford F-150 Raptor. Buying this set? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.


42126 Ford F-150 Raptor is the latest in the "mid-scale car" Technic line, joining 42096 Porsche 911 RSR, 42111 Dom's Dodge Charger, and 42125 Ferrari 488 GTE 'AF Corse #51'. You may have already heard of this set due to it being officially revealed a while ago, but now you can learn additional details and hopefully have a better idea on whether or not to get one for yourself. 

23 September 2021

LEGO® Super Mario™ build review: 71395 Super Mario 64 Question Mark Block

Posted by Admin

Victor Pruvost (@leewanlego) completes his review of LEGO® 71395 Super Mario 64 Question Mark Block today. Having examined its parts last week, he now looks at the build itself. Buying this set once it's released in October? Consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'. Products in this article were provided by LEGO; the author's opinions are their own.

The bags are numbered from 1 to 13. Bags 1 to 5 make the structure of the cube, bags 6 to 12 are used to build the game levels, and with bag 13 you close the cube.