Showing posts with label Set review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Set review. Show all posts

24 November 2023

LEGO® Ideas review: 21343 Viking Village

Posted by tobymac

Skål! Today’s set takes us back in time, in terms of both world history and LEGO® history. So raise your horn of mead and toast to the return of the Vikings.

21 November 2023

LEGO® Friends Sea Rescue sets review & MOC: 41734, 41736, 41752

Posted by Tom Loftus

Earlier this year the environmentally conscious Heartlake City received a revamped sea rescue sub-theme in the form of LEGO® Friends sets 41734 Sea Rescue Boat, 41736 Sea Rescue Center and 41752 Sea Rescue Plane. Today I'll be taking a look at the noteworthy parts and builds of all three sets before attempting an alternate build using their combined inventories.

 

18 November 2023

LEGO® Technic review: 42159 Yamaha MT‑10 SP

Posted by Zachary Hill

Yamaha's top-of-the-line "hyper naked" motorcycle is wearing LEGO® Technic clothes. 42159 Yamaha MT-10 SP is the second 1:5 scale motorbike from The LEGO Group, but plenty more besides the manufacturer has changed on this successor. Overhauled gearbox pieces revolutionize shifting, while plenty of regular parts get a major aesthetic upgrade with better sprue mark positioning.


Itty bitty bits aside, the overall bike embodies "The Dark Side of Japan"—Yamaha's MT-10 SP catchphrase—with aggressive styling. Broad strokes of black and minimal fairings suit my taste in motorcycles, even if there are a few areas where I question Yamaha's choices.

13 November 2023

LEGO® Disney™ Wish review: 43231 Asha’s Cottage

Posted by Elspeth De Montes

LEGO recently revealed three sets based on the upcoming Disney™ animated movie, Wish. With the movie releasing on 22 November in the US, we thought it was the perfect time to take a look at the middle-sized set, 43231 Asha's Cottage. 

Let's take a look inside and see what new elements it brings.

06 November 2023

LEGO® Icons set review: 10326 Natural History Museum

Posted by tobymac

Inquisitive minds rejoice as a new museum has opened downtown, featuring exhibitions from the past and the future. I took a look at the elements the museum is made of in Part 1, and today we’ll wander through its halls and study the artifacts on display, in this build review of LEGO® Icons 10326 Natural History Museum.

31 October 2023

LEGO® DREAMZzz™ review: 71469 Nightmare Shark Ship

Posted by Eero

There a generally 2 types of action & adventure theme flagship sets: the Castle and the Vehicle. I usually find the Castle type more interesting as they tend to offer unique architectural structures. The flagship of the LEGO® DREAMZzz™ theme is of the Vehicle type: a pirate ship, stuck in a shark, with jet engines.


For the last of my LEGO DREAMZzz reviews I'm taking a look at 71469 Nightmare Shark Ship. Spooked yet? You will be!

29 October 2023

LEGO® Icons review + MOC: 10329 Tiny Plants

Posted by Thomas Jenkins

The Botanical Collection is growing! Coming 1 December 2023, LEGO® ICONS™10329 Tiny Plants is a selection of miniaturized carnivorous, tropical and desert plants, each in their own little pot. Join us as we weed out all the new recoloured elements (there are quite a few!) and take a look at these adorable tiny plants.


27 October 2023

LEGO® DREAMZzz™ review: 71459 Stable of Dream Creatures

Posted by Eero

Even characters in action & adventure themes need a day off to relax. 71459 Stable of Dream Creatures offers such a setting from the boisterous madness that is the LEGO® DREAMZzz™theme.

There are no bad guys featured in this set and the only weapon is a wood-chopping axe. But beyond that, is it a good set and does it have interesting pieces? Let's take a look.

20 October 2023

LEGO® DREAMZzz™ review: 71460 Mr. Oz's Spacebus

Posted by Eero

Would you step onto a school bus that's a also a space shuttle and driven by your physics teacher and his chimpanzee sidekick? I might think twice before stepping in, but this is space travel after all, so how could you resist? LEGO® DREAMZzz™ 71460 Mr. Oz's Spacebus presents such a scenario; let's see if this dream voyage is worth the ride.

16 October 2023

LEGO® Icons build review: 10318 Concorde

Posted by Tom Loftus

Fasten your seat belts, it's the final instalment of our LEGO® Icons 10318 Concorde review where we'll be exploring the set's build techniques and nice part usage before concluding with a look at the impressive completed model.

 

28 September 2023

LEGO® Architecture review: 21060 Himeji Castle

Posted by Thomas Jenkins

Over the last 700-or-so years, Himeji Castle has survived numerous wars and natural disasters. It's considered a national treasure in Japan and is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. This year it gets a new accolade: it's the latest LEGO® Architecture set! We already took a look at one of the elements appearing in 21060 Himeji Castle - the exciting "Pagoda Plate" - but today we take a look at the set in its entirety.

20 September 2023

LEGO® Friends review & MOC: 41760 Igloo Holiday Adventure

Posted by Caz Mockett

You know summer is officially over when The LEGO Group starts releasing winter-themed sets! Today I take a look at the smaller of two September 2023 LEGO® Friends sets: 41760 Igloo Holiday Adventure. For a set of modest size, it offers us a healthy number of recolours, rare parts and even two fascinating new moulds!

18 September 2023

LEGO® DREAMZzz™ review: 71457 Pegasus Flying Horse

Posted by Eero

Has LEGO® Elves come back? No, but the solemn sobbing of fans missing that theme were probably heard by some set designers. LEGO® DREAMZzz™ has more than one set reminiscent of that theme, although equipped with traditional minifigures instead of mini-dolls. 71457 Pegasus Flying Horse is the most obvious of these sets. Is this mammoth-sized winged equine a worthy successor?

14 September 2023

LEGO® Classic review + MOCs: 11027 Creative Neon Fun & 11028 Creative Pastel Fun

Posted by Admin

Today, guest author Mansur 'Waffles' Soeleman takes a look at two smaller sets from the January 2023 wave of LEGO® Classic sets, 11027 Creative Neon Fun and 11028 Creative Pastel Fun, both of which offer a modest range of basic elements... with some exciting recolours.

Elements from 11027 Creative Neon Fun and 11028 Creative Pastel Fun. Skrunkle not included

With the help of Skrunkle (a.k.a. LEGO® BIONICLE® Tahu from last year’s 11021 90 Years of Play), I will give an overview of 11027 & 11028's noteworthy bits as well as their main builds, and follow that with MOCs I made with my good friends Tim Goddard and Alec Hole.

13 September 2023

LEGO® Star Wars™ build review: 75355 X-Wing Starfighter™

Posted by Tom Loftus

Today I'll be completing my review of 75355 UCS X-Wing Starfighter. Having analysed the set's new moulds, recolours and prints in part 1, it's time to focus on the minifigures, build techniques and finished model.


06 September 2023

LEGO® Friends review & MOC: 41747 Heartlake City Community Kitchen

Posted by Caz Mockett

The June 2023 wave of LEGO® Friends releases continues to fly the flag for thoughtfully-designed sets in vibrant colours, and 41747 Heartlake City Community Kitchen is no exception. It includes four characters from the theme's reboot, plus everyone's favourite grumpy kitty, Churro, who all love hanging out in a community-run café.

 

The set features an interesting selection of new, recoloured and rare elements, so let's take a look at them to see what's cooking in the kitchen.

31 August 2023

LEGO® DREAMZzz™ review: 71456 Mrs. Castillo's Turtle Van versus 71458 Crocodile Car

Posted by Eero

As a kid, I was far more interested in the diverse members of the animal kingdom than cars. In our dreams the distinction is far less clear, as shown by these two LEGO® DREAMZzz™ sets, 71456 Mrs. Castillo's Turtle Van and 71458 Crocodile Car.

One is slow, stable and hippie-ish; the other is low, toothy and dangerous. Which one fares better? One, two... Go!

28 August 2023

LEGO® BrickHeadz™ Sonic review: sets 40627 & 40628, and part 4304

Posted by tobymac
Sonic is on a roll. After an appearance in LEGO® Dimensions and LEGO® Ideas, the franchise has gotten its own theme. We will give you a full report on all the new elements in this theme soon, but first we take a look at another incarnation of the blue hedgehog and the double-tailed fox, in the form of two LEGO® BrickHeadz™ sets. 
 

At first glance, they appear to be just another addition in the long lineup of Brickheadz sets, but inside both characters, element fans find an interesting surprise.

24 August 2023

LEGO® Friends review: 41744 Sports Center

Posted by Tom Loftus

Continuing our look at the June 2023 wave of  LEGO® Friends sets, 41744 Sports Center offers a small range of new recolours, a colourful selection of lesser-seen elements and a build that makes great use of all 832 parts.

 

16 August 2023

LEGO® DREAMZzz™ set review: 71461 Fantastical Tree House

Posted by Eero

In the dreamworld, trees have blue leaves and they're filled with grandmothers, toasting bagels.

 
Along with the vehicle and mech sets common in action and adventure themes, the August 2023 range of LEGO® DREAMZzz™ also presents us with two place-based sets. Today I'm taking a nap in one of them, 71461 Fantastical Tree House.