Showing posts with label Set review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Set review. Show all posts

01 October 2022

LEGO® Star Wars™ set review: 75331 The Razor Crest

Posted by Thomas Jenkins

In part 1 of our review, we took a look at the parts contained in LEGOⓇ Star Wars 75331 The Razor Crest and at 6187 pieces, there was a lot to unpack. Today our attention turns to the build of this Ultimate Collector Series model, and we even have some insight from the designers for you.

29 September 2022

LEGO® Winter Village review: 10308 Holiday Main Street

Posted by tobymac

September has almost gone, summer has definitely passed, and it's almost time to set up the Winter Village display. Since 2009, LEGO® has released new additions to the village annually and today I’ll have a closer look at the 14th instalment of the series: 10308 Holiday Main Street.

20 September 2022

LEGO® Minifigures review: 71034 Series 23

Posted by tobymac

The LEGO® Minifigure theme keeps on bringing great new ideas. At the start of the year, 71032 Series 22 was released (reviewed by Kev Levell) and then in May I reviewed my favorite series to date, 71033 The Muppets. Today, I’ll examine the third series of 2022. 


Aside from the new minifig parts I’m happy to notice some interesting new elements, so let’s dive in.

15 September 2022

LEGO® Avatar new parts review: 75571, 75572, 75573, 75574 and BrickHeadz 40554

Posted by Jonas Kramm

We're pausing the Space Tools Parts Festival for a week as we have a thrilling look at the new range of LEGO® Avatar sets, coming 1 October 2022.


Today we land on the moon Pandora to explore the unique new recolours that grow here, and maybe even spot some wild moulds that have never been seen before!

Thirteen years after the first movie came into the cinemas, LEGO have decided to make four sets and one BrickHeadz depicting the second movie, Avatar - The Way of Water that is planned to be released in December this year.

15 August 2022

LEGO® Technic review: 42144 Material Handler

Posted by Alex Campos

Following LEGO® Technic 42128 Heavy-Duty Tow Truck last year, LEGO pneumatics are still going strong and are now present in 42144 Material Handler. As a model, it resembles a cross between 42006 Excavator and 42053 Volvo EW160E, clad in red. As a source of elements for your creations, let’s see what it delivers.

08 August 2022

LEGO® NINJAGO® review: 71774 Lloyd's Ultra Golden Dragon

Posted by tobymac

Dragons are a common sight in the realm of LEGO® NINJAGO®. A quick search on Rebrickable shows 58 sets featuring a dragon. So the question will be: does 71774 Lloyd’s Ultra Golden Dragon have anything new to offer? With 998 parts, it is one of the largest dragon sets, and with 286 of these parts being in Pearl Gold, its shininess certainly stands out.


26 July 2022

LEGO® ICONS™ set review: 10305 Lion Knights' Castle

Posted by Ben Davies

Last week we examined the numerous new and rare elements that appear in the upcoming 10305 Lion Knights' Castle. Today, we'll be taking a look at the final model and some of the innovative building techniques that bring it to life.

23 July 2022

LEGO® ICONS™ review: 10290 Pickup Truck

Posted by Admin

Kevin J. Walter returns as a guest author today with a 2021 set that is so gorgeous we really felt it needed to be reviewed, better late than never! Products in this article were provided by LEGO®; the author's opinions are their own.

When I first saw the announcement of the LEGO® Pickup Truck in August 2021, images of rural American farm life came into my mind. Old MacDonald had a ride! 


Its release last October was the third large-scale vehicle released in 2021 by the line formerly known as LEGO® Creator Expert (now LEGO® ICONS™), following
10295 Porsche 911 and 10279 Volkswagen T2 Camper Van.

The set contains 1,677 parts divided over 8 bags and has a nice little collection of props accompanying the pickup truck. Before we take a closer look at the build itself, let’s explore the new parts in this set.

14 July 2022

LEGO® Technic review: 42145 Airbus H175 Rescue Helicopter

Posted by Alex Campos

Products in this article were provided by LEGO®; the author's opinions are their own.


The LEGO® Technic line includes what could be called the "modern large helicopter" range of sets: 9396 Helicopter, 42052 Heavy Lift Helicopter and 42113 Bell-Boeing V-22 Osprey (the latter can be considered a helicopter, and regardless of being cancelled by TLG, copies did get sold). Now, the fourth is approaching: 42145 Airbus H175 Rescue Helicopter. Will you give it permission to land?

13 July 2022

LEGO® ICONS™ review: 10497 Galaxy Explorer

Posted by Caz Mockett

In 1979 The LEGO Group released a set which is still much loved by fans of the LEGO® Space theme, designed by the now-legendary Jens Nygård Knudsen. In the USA it was known as 497 Galaxy Explorer, while elsewhere it went by the name of 928 Space Cruiser And Moonbase. Nowadays, fans mostly refer to it as “Galaxy Explorer” or simply “928” since that was the number printed on the sides of both versions of the ship. 

Due for release on 1 August 2022 worldwide, the set will retail for £89.99 / US$99.99 / 99.99€ / AU$179.99 and contains 1254 pieces, giving a price to part value of 7.2p / 8.0c / 8.0c. If you are pre-ordering or buying this set, please consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'.

04 July 2022

LEGO® Super Mario Luigi's Mansion review: 71401 Haunt-and-Seek

Posted by Zachary Hill

Products in this article were provided by LEGO®; the author's opinions are their own.

The frightful foes of Luigi's Mansion return for New Elementary's final review of the January 2022 LEGO® Super Mario sets. With three more spooky enemies, seven clever gameplay modules and enough details to call the vile villa a home, Haunt-and-Seek is the ultimate Luigi's Mansion expansion.

30 June 2022

LEGO® Speed Champions review: 76911 007 Aston Martin DB5 & 76912 Fast and Furious Dodge Charger

Posted by Kev Levell

Products in this article were provided by LEGO®; the author's opinions are their own.

In a surprising move, LEGO® Speed Champions have expanded their remit to include vehicles with a second license. The first two in this potential range of iconic movie & TV vehicles (if indeed this turns out to be a continuing feature) depict vehicles that LEGO has tackled in other themes before at larger scales.

76911 007 Aston Martin DB5


The release of the 10262 Creator Expert James Bond Aston Martin was just as surprising in 2018 as this smaller iteration is now. A subject that no-one expected to return, but is all the more welcome for that fact – especially at a more affordable price point.

10 June 2022

LEGO® Technic review and MOCs: 42137 Porsche Formula E 99x Electric

Posted by Thomas Jenkins

Products in this article were provided by LEGO®; the author's opinions are their own.


42137 Porsche Formula E 99X Electric is the third LEGOⓇ Technic Porsche and the first Technic model to be based on an electric vehicle. The set contains 422 pieces and launched at the start of 2022 priced at $49.99 / £44.99 / €49.99. If you're buying this set, consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'
 
Admittedly, I’m not a motorsport fan but I do enjoy interesting and unusual new LEGO pieces, and there are a few goodies contained within this set.

07 June 2022

LEGO® Technic set review: 42143 Ferrari Daytona SP3

Posted by Zachary Hill

Products in this article were provided by LEGO®; the author's opinions are their own.

Ferrari's latest exclusive hypercar — the Daytona SP3 — is also the latest LEGO® Technic Ultimate car. 42143 Ferrari Daytona SP3 shares familiar functions with earlier Ultimate 1:8-scale Technic cars while also bringing its own unique styling and technical construction. This majestic Maranello machine sets itself apart with immaculate attention to detail, masterful building techniques, and the excitement of a modern Ferarri hearkening back to the automaker's racing history.


This set review is the second look New Elementary takes at this biggest-ever Technic car following a detailed look at our favourite parts from this 3778-piece set. This set is on sale now since 1 June for £349.99 / US$399.99 / CA$499.99 / 399.99€ / AU$659.99. Adding this supercar to your garage? Consider using our affiliate links if you're buying from LEGO.com; New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'.

For our thoughts on the Daytona SP3's features, build techniques, and finished model, read on.

02 June 2022

LEGO® Friends parts review & MOCs: 41704 Main Street Building

Posted by Caz Mockett

Products in this article were provided by LEGO®; the author's opinions are their own.


41704 Main Street Building is the largest LEGO® Friends release ever, beating the previous incumbent 41101 Heartlake Grand Hotel by 110 pieces, which had held the top spot since 2015. This new set retails at £129.99 / $149.99 / 149,99 € for 1682 pieces, which gives a reasonable price per part value of 7.7p / 8.9c. If you're buying this set, consider using our affiliate links, New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'
 
I will take a closer look at the new and rare elements, the minidolls and make a couple of MOCs from some of the pieces.

23 May 2022

LEGO® Minifigures review: 71033 The Muppets

Posted by tobymac

Ever since 21324 Sesame Street was announced I have been looking forward to today’s set, or rather, series of sets: 71033 The Muppets Collectible Minifigures. Capturing the unique looks of the characters would be impossible without introducing some new parts, so naturally we’re gonna take a closer look at them. The series consists of 12 characters, all coming with newly moulded heads, and most bringing new prints for the torsos and legs.

20 May 2022

LEGO® DOTS Parts review + MOC: 41945 Neon Tiger Bracelet & Bag Tag

Posted by Eero

Products in this article were provided by LEGO®; the author's opinions are their own.

The LEGO® DOTS bag tag range was launched in 2021 and returned in January 2022 with two sets combining a bag tag with a bracelet. I've taken a closer look at the parts of one of these, 41945 Neon Tiger Bracelet & Bag Tag (AU$22.99/ CA$16.99/ DE€14.99/ FI€16.95/ £12.99/ US$14.99). The set also features some pieces in the new Neon Yellow colour introduced this year. At the end of this article I'll also share a new MOC of mine inspired by these parts.

15 May 2022

LEGO® Art review: 31206 The Rolling Stones

Posted by tobymac

Products in this article were provided by LEGO®; the author's opinions are their own.

Two years ago, the LEGO Group introduced the LEGO® Art theme which has brought us 10 sets so far. These sets have a lot in common: They consist of a canvas made out of Brick Special 16 x 16 x 1 1/3 with Pinholes (65803) that is covered with 1 x 1 round tiles and/or plates to create a mosaic image, and as a finishing touch, a border is added. New Elementary has reviewed some of these sets already.

LEGO has now decided to change things up, bringing us 31206 The Rolling Stones: a 1,998 piece set available from 1 June for €149,99 / $149.99 / £129.99. Consider using our affiliate links if you're buying from LEGO.com; New Elementary may get a commission: USA LEGO Shop | Australia LEGO Shop | UK LEGO Shop/for Europe 'Change region'

Will this shake-up have me shouting, "Wooo wooo" or will it have me saying, "I can’t get no satisfaction"?

03 May 2022

LEGO® Horizon Forbidden West review & interview: 76989 Tallneck

Posted by Zachary Hill

Products in this article were provided by LEGO®; the author's opinions are their own.

Role-playing games elicit high hopes. Players expect a deep story, stunning graphics, and fulfilling gameplay, and only the best games spawn a successful franchise. Horizon Forbidden West solidifies the impact left by Aloy and her robo-dino co-stars of Horizon Zero Dawn, and now just three months after the sequel’s release a LEGO® set celebrating the series has just hit the shelves.


01 May 2022

LEGO® Star Wars review: 75325 The Mandalorian’s N-1 Starfighter

Posted by Thomas Jenkins

Products in this article were provided by LEGO®; the author's opinions are their own.


Today we’re taking a look at LEGO® Star Wars 75325 The Mandalorian’s N-1 Starfighter, a ship described as being faster than a fathier and as smooth as a gonk’s scomp jack, and 'a real classic', according to Peli Motto. But how does the LEGO version stack up? Read on and see.