Showing posts with label Set review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Set review. Show all posts

29 October 2023

LEGO® Icons review + MOC: 10329 Tiny Plants

Posted by Thomas Jenkins

The Botanical Collection is growing! Coming 1 December 2023, LEGO® ICONS™10329 Tiny Plants is a selection of miniaturized carnivorous, tropical and desert plants, each in their own little pot. Join us as we weed out all the new recoloured elements (there are quite a few!) and take a look at these adorable tiny plants.


27 October 2023

LEGO® DREAMZzz™ review: 71459 Stable of Dream Creatures

Posted by Eero

Even characters in action & adventure themes need a day off to relax. 71459 Stable of Dream Creatures offers such a setting from the boisterous madness that is the LEGO® DREAMZzz™theme.

There are no bad guys featured in this set and the only weapon is a wood-chopping axe. But beyond that, is it a good set and does it have interesting pieces? Let's take a look.

20 October 2023

LEGO® DREAMZzz™ review: 71460 Mr. Oz's Spacebus

Posted by Eero

Would you step onto a school bus that's a also a space shuttle and driven by your physics teacher and his chimpanzee sidekick? I might think twice before stepping in, but this is space travel after all, so how could you resist? LEGO® DREAMZzz™ 71460 Mr. Oz's Spacebus presents such a scenario; let's see if this dream voyage is worth the ride.

16 October 2023

LEGO® Icons build review: 10318 Concorde

Posted by Tom Loftus

Fasten your seat belts, it's the final instalment of our LEGO® Icons 10318 Concorde review where we'll be exploring the set's build techniques and nice part usage before concluding with a look at the impressive completed model.

 

28 September 2023

LEGO® Architecture review: 21060 Himeji Castle

Posted by Thomas Jenkins

Over the last 700-or-so years, Himeji Castle has survived numerous wars and natural disasters. It's considered a national treasure in Japan and is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. This year it gets a new accolade: it's the latest LEGO® Architecture set! We already took a look at one of the elements appearing in 21060 Himeji Castle - the exciting "Pagoda Plate" - but today we take a look at the set in its entirety.

20 September 2023

LEGO® Friends review & MOC: 41760 Igloo Holiday Adventure

Posted by Caz Mockett

You know summer is officially over when The LEGO Group starts releasing winter-themed sets! Today I take a look at the smaller of two September 2023 LEGO® Friends sets: 41760 Igloo Holiday Adventure. For a set of modest size, it offers us a healthy number of recolours, rare parts and even two fascinating new moulds!

18 September 2023

LEGO® DREAMZzz™ review: 71457 Pegasus Flying Horse

Posted by Eero

Has LEGO® Elves come back? No, but the solemn sobbing of fans missing that theme were probably heard by some set designers. LEGO® DREAMZzz™ has more than one set reminiscent of that theme, although equipped with traditional minifigures instead of mini-dolls. 71457 Pegasus Flying Horse is the most obvious of these sets. Is this mammoth-sized winged equine a worthy successor?

14 September 2023

LEGO® Classic review + MOCs: 11027 Creative Neon Fun & 11028 Creative Pastel Fun

Posted by Admin

Today, guest author Mansur 'Waffles' Soeleman takes a look at two smaller sets from the January 2023 wave of LEGO® Classic sets, 11027 Creative Neon Fun and 11028 Creative Pastel Fun, both of which offer a modest range of basic elements... with some exciting recolours.

Elements from 11027 Creative Neon Fun and 11028 Creative Pastel Fun. Skrunkle not included

With the help of Skrunkle (a.k.a. LEGO® BIONICLE® Tahu from last year’s 11021 90 Years of Play), I will give an overview of 11027 & 11028's noteworthy bits as well as their main builds, and follow that with MOCs I made with my good friends Tim Goddard and Alec Hole.

13 September 2023

LEGO® Star Wars™ build review: 75355 X-Wing Starfighter™

Posted by Tom Loftus

Today I'll be completing my review of 75355 UCS X-Wing Starfighter. Having analysed the set's new moulds, recolours and prints in part 1, it's time to focus on the minifigures, build techniques and finished model.


06 September 2023

LEGO® Friends review & MOC: 41747 Heartlake City Community Kitchen

Posted by Caz Mockett

The June 2023 wave of LEGO® Friends releases continues to fly the flag for thoughtfully-designed sets in vibrant colours, and 41747 Heartlake City Community Kitchen is no exception. It includes four characters from the theme's reboot, plus everyone's favourite grumpy kitty, Churro, who all love hanging out in a community-run café.

 

The set features an interesting selection of new, recoloured and rare elements, so let's take a look at them to see what's cooking in the kitchen.

31 August 2023

LEGO® DREAMZzz™ review: 71456 Mrs. Castillo's Turtle Van versus 71458 Crocodile Car

Posted by Eero

As a kid, I was far more interested in the diverse members of the animal kingdom than cars. In our dreams the distinction is far less clear, as shown by these two LEGO® DREAMZzz™ sets, 71456 Mrs. Castillo's Turtle Van and 71458 Crocodile Car.

One is slow, stable and hippie-ish; the other is low, toothy and dangerous. Which one fares better? One, two... Go!

28 August 2023

LEGO® BrickHeadz™ Sonic review: sets 40627 & 40628, and part 4304

Posted by tobymac
Sonic is on a roll. After an appearance in LEGO® Dimensions and LEGO® Ideas, the franchise has gotten its own theme. We will give you a full report on all the new elements in this theme soon, but first we take a look at another incarnation of the blue hedgehog and the double-tailed fox, in the form of two LEGO® BrickHeadz™ sets. 
 

At first glance, they appear to be just another addition in the long lineup of Brickheadz sets, but inside both characters, element fans find an interesting surprise.

24 August 2023

LEGO® Friends review: 41744 Sports Center

Posted by Tom Loftus

Continuing our look at the June 2023 wave of  LEGO® Friends sets, 41744 Sports Center offers a small range of new recolours, a colourful selection of lesser-seen elements and a build that makes great use of all 832 parts.

 

16 August 2023

LEGO® DREAMZzz™ set review: 71461 Fantastical Tree House

Posted by Eero

In the dreamworld, trees have blue leaves and they're filled with grandmothers, toasting bagels.

 
Along with the vehicle and mech sets common in action and adventure themes, the August 2023 range of LEGO® DREAMZzz™ also presents us with two place-based sets. Today I'm taking a nap in one of them, 71461 Fantastical Tree House.

08 August 2023

LEGO® Super Mario™ parts review + MOCs: 71417 Fliprus Snow Adventure and 71419 Peach's Garden Balloon Ride

Posted by Eero

Today I'm looking at parts from two 2023 LEGO® Super Mario™ sets, 71417 Fliprus Snow Adventure and 71419 Peach's Garden Balloon Ride. I'll also present two new MOCs inspired by the parts from these sets, and there are building instructions for Patreon supporters. Let's-a-go!

04 August 2023

LEGO® NINJAGO® review: vehicle sets 71789, 71791, 71792 & 71794

Posted by tobymac

From the very start the ninjas of LEGO® NINJAGO® have been moving around in all types of vehicles, be it cars, bikes, mechs, planes, canceled trains and many more. In this review I’ll be looking at 4 vehicle-orientated sets from the June 2023 wave. 

Namely, 71794 Lloyd and Arin’s Ninja Team Mechs, 71792 Sora’s Transforming Mech Bike Racer, 71791 Zane’s Dragon Power Spinjitzu Race Car and 71789 Kai and Ras’s Car and Bike Battle. Is it just me or are the name of sets getting to be a bit long lately?

31 July 2023

LEGO® DREAMZzz™ review: the "Barrel Joint" sets 71453, 71454 & 71455

Posted by Eero

Tomorrow is August, meaning the new theme LEGO® DREAMZzz™ becomes available, and I'm starting my series of set reviews with three of its similar sets: 71453 Izzie and Bunchu the Bunny, 71454 Mateo and Z-Blob the Robot and 71455 Grimkeeper the Cage Monster. They all use the new barrel joint piece (Design ID 1994) for movement. 

Bunchu the Bunny and Z-Blob the Robot are the smallest sets of the line - save one polybag - and depict the main characters exploring their skills in the dreamworld. The slightly larger Grimkeeper the Cage monster is a villain set, showing the darker side of this theme.

29 July 2023

LEGO® Icons review: 10315 Tranquil Garden

Posted by Elspeth De Montes

When we first saw images of the latest LEGO® Icons set, 10315 Tranquil Garden,  we were excited to see new elements, recolours and creative parts use all wrapped up in the aesthetics of a traditional Japanese garden scene.

The set was created in collaboration with Hoichi Kurisu, a landscape designer famous for his tranquil gardens across the world.  As they say in the instruction booklet, it's time to "make yourself at home, relax and be one with nature for a moment. Or stay as long as you like." 

Come this way...

26 July 2023

LEGO® Friends review: 41757 Botanical Garden

Posted by Caz Mockett

One of the most keenly-awaited sets in the June wave of LEGO® Friends releases, 41757 Botanical Garden features a stylish butterfly house with cacti and succulents growing inside, along with an outside pond, overhanging cherry tree and three minidolls. It already seems to be a popular set with the AFOL community, so let's dive straight into the interesting parts included.

25 July 2023

LEGO® Technic review: 42146 Liebherr Crawler Crane LR 13000

Posted by tobymac

The Liebherr LR 1300 is the largest crawler crane in the world, capable of hoisting loads of 3,000 tons up to 236 meters. Naturally, such a massive machine requires a massive LEGO® Technic set, and 42146 Liebherr Crawler Crane LR 13000 delivers just that.

Let's take a look at this massive parts pack and see how that build stacks up!